Jump to main content


Brian O’Driscoll Ireland Captain For Six Nations

Brian O’Driscoll Ireland Captain For Six Nations

Brian O’Driscoll has been named as captain of Ireland for the 2004 RBS Six Nations Championship the appointment made when a squad of 34 was announced this (Wednesday) afternoon.

Brian O’Driscoll has been named as captain of Ireland for the 2004 Royal Bank of Scotland Six Nations Championship. The five players who have been named as vice-captains are,Reggie Corrigan, Anthony Foley, David Humphreys, Paul O’Connell and Ronan O’Gara.

The Ireland squad of 34 to take part in a preliminary RBS Six Nations championship training camp in Dublin from February 2nd to 6th, is: –

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Forwards (17): Simon Best (Ulster – Belfast Harlequins), Shane Byrne (Leinster – Blackrock College), Reggie Corrigan (Leinster – Greystones), Victor Costello (Leinster – St. Mary’s College), Simon Easterby (Llanelli), Anthony Foley (Munster – Shannon), Keith Gleeson (Leinster – St. Mary’s College), John Hayes (Munster – Shannon), Marcus Horan (Munster – Shannon), Bernard Jackman (Connacht – Clontarf), Gary Longwell (Ulster – Ballymena), Eric Miller (Leinster – Terenure College), Donncha O’Callaghan (Munster – Cork Constitution), Paul O’Connell (Munster – Young Munster), Malcolm O’Kelly (Leinster – St. Mary’s College), Frank Sheahan (Munster – Cork Constitution), David Wallace (Munster – Garryowen).

Backs (17): Paul Burke (Harlequins), Gordon Darcy (Leinster – Lansdowne), Girvan Dempsey (Leinster – Terenure College), Neil Doak (Ulster – Belfast Harlequins), Gavin Duffy (Harlequins), Guy Easterby (Rotherham),Rob Henderson (Munster – Garryowen), Anthony Horgan (Munster – Cork Constitution), Shane Horgan (Leinster – Shannon), Tyrone Howe (Ulster – Dungannon), David Humphreys (Ulster – Dungannon), John Kelly (Munster – Cork Constitution), Kevin Maggs (Bath), Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster – Blackrock College), Mike Mullins (Munster – Old Crescent), Ronan O’Gara (Munster – Cork Constitution), Peter Stringer (Munster – Shannon).

Not considered due to injury: Jonathan Bell (Ulster – Dungannon), Emmet Byrne (Leinster – St. Mary’s College), Leo Cullen (Leinster – Blackrock College), Denis Hickie (Leinster – St. Mary’s College), Geordan Murphy (Leicester), Alan Quinlan (Munster – Shannon).

The following players are currently injured and their availability is subject to medical clearance: Simon Easterby, Marcus Horan, Eric Miller, Brian O’Driscoll.

The squad of 34 will be reduced to 22 on Thursday next and the team to play France in Paris on February 14th will be named from that panel on Tuesday, February 10th.