Jump to main content


They’re Off

They’re Off

The Ireland Squad flew out from Dublin Airport on Monday (Sept 29th) on the first leg of their long journey to Sydney, en route to the 2003 Rugby World Cup.

Sat. Nov. 1st:
Ireland v Australia, Telstra Dome, Melbourne, 8.35pm (local time).

Tue. Oct. 28th:Ireland team for game v Australia announced.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Mon. Oct. 27th:
Ireland squad depart Adelaide for Melbourne.

Sun. Oct. 26th:
Ireland v Argentina, Adelaide Oval, 6pm.

Wed. Oct. 22nd:
Team for game v Argentina announced.

Tue. Oct 21st:
Ireland squad depart Sydney for Adelaide.

Sun. Oct. 19th:
Ireland v Namibia, Sydney, 8pm.

Namibia squad:
Forwards: Neil du Toit, Johan Jenkins, Kees Lensing, Jani du Toit, Hugo Horn, JM Meyer, Heino Senekal, Johannes Theron, Eben Isaacs, Wolfie Duvenhage, Schalk van der Merwe, Herman Lintvelt, Sean Furter (captain), Jurgens van Lill, Archie Graham, Cor van Tonder.
Backs: Lean van Dyk, Jurie Booysen, Melrick Africa, Deon Mouton, Corni Powell, Du Preez Grobler, Regardt Kruger, Rudie van Vuuren, Morni Schreuder, Ronaldo Pedro, Hakkies H|sselman, Emile Wessels, Desmond Snyders, Niel Swanepoel

Wed. Oct. 15th: Team for game v Namibia announced.

Sat. Oct. 11th:
Ireland v Romania, Gosford. 5pm.

Tue. Oct 7th:
Team for game v Romania announced.

Wed. Oct. 1st:
Arrive Sydney Airport. Coach transfer to Terrigal

Mon. Sept 29th:
Squad Departs for Australia.

Thur. Sept 25th:
Farewell Banquet, Jury’s Hotel, Ballsbridge.

Mon, Sept. 22nd:
Jonny Bell forced to withdraw, Paddy Wallace replaces.

Mon. Sept. 22nd:
IRFU extend Eddie O’Sullivan’s contract up to 2008 Six Nations.

Sun. Sept 21st:
Squad re-assemble, Dublin.

Fri. Sept 19th:
Final RWC Prep. game, Lansdowne Road. The game, Ireland U25 v Presidents XV – Cancelled.

Tue. Sept 16th:
Squad returns home from Spain.

Tue. Sept 9th:
Squad departs for Bilbao, Spain for warm-weather training camp. John Hayes, John Kelly, Shane Horgan remain in Ireland to continue their rehab.

The Ireland Rugby World Cup 2003 Squad.
Forwards (17)

Simon Best (Ulster/Belfast Harlequins)
Shane Byrne (Leinster/Blackrock College)
Reggie Corrigan (Leinster/ Greystones)
Victor Costello (Leinster/St. Mary’s College)
Simon Easterby (Llanelli)
Anthony Foley(Munster/Shannon)
Keith Gleeson (Leinster/St.Mary’s College)
John Hayes (Munster/Shannon)
Marcus Horan (Munster/Shannon)
Gary Longwell(Ulster/Ballymena)
Eric Miller (Leinster/Terenure College)
Donncha O’Callaghan(Munster/Cork Constitution)
Paul O’Connell (Munster/Young Munster)
Malcolm O’Kelly (Leinster/St. Mary’s College)
Frank Sheahan (Munster/Cork Constitution)
Alan Quinlan (Munster/Shannon)
Keith Wood (Munster/Garryowen).

Backs (13)

Jonathon Bell(Ulster/Dungannon)
Girvan Dempsey (Leinster/Terenure College)
Neil Doak (Ulster/Belfast Harlequins)
Guy Easterby (Rotherham)
Denis Hickie (Leinster/St. Mary’s College)
Anthony Horgan (Munster/Cork Constitution)
Shane Horgan (Leinster/Lansdowne)
David Humphreys (Ulster/Dungannon)
John Kelly (Munster/Cork Constitution)
Kevin Maggs (Bath)
Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster/Blackrock College)
Ronan O’Gara (Munster/Cork Constitution)
Peter Stringer (Munster/Shannon).

RWC Shadow Squad.
Justin Bishop (London Irish)
Paul Burke (Harlequins)
Emmet Byrne (Leinster/St. Mary’s College)
Leo Cullen (Leinster/Blackrock
Gordon Darcy (Leinster/Lansdowne)
Kieron Dawson (London Irish),
Justin Fitzpatrick (Castres)
Tyrone Howe (Ulster/Dungannon)
Mike Mullins
(Munster/Old Crescent)
Brian O’Meara (Leinster/Cork
David Quinlan (Leinster/Blackrock College)
Paul Shields (Ulster/Ballymena)
David Wallace (Munster/Garryowen)
Paddy Wallace (Ulster/Ballymena).

Ireland Management:
Manager – Brian O’Brien.
Coach – Eddie O’Sullivan
Assistant Coach – Declan Kidney
Forwards Coach – Niall O’Donovan.
Defence Coach – Mike
Scrummage Coach – Tony Darcy
Kicking Coach – Mark Tainton
Doctor – Gary O’ Driscoll
Physiotherapist – Ailbe McCormack
Fitness Coach – Mike
Bio-Mechanist – Emilie Foster
Masseur – Shaun Gilmore
Video Analysist – Mervyn Murphy
Baggage Master – Patrick O’Reilly
Squad Administrator
– Gerard Carmody
Media Liaison Officer – John Redmond.