Jump to main content


Ireland Side For Game v Italy.

Ireland Side For Game v Italy.

There are 13 changes on the Ireland side for Saturday’s game against Italy, from the side that started against Wales, with one of those retained, Brian O’Driscoll resuming the role of captain.

Centre Brian O’Driscoll and out half David Humphreys are the only survivors from the team originally selected in the 35-12 defeat of Wales on August 16, chosen to play for Ireland in the permanent tsb international against Italy at Thomond Park on Saturday next (kick off 3pm).
O’Driscoll, winning his 39th cap, also resumes the captaincy in the absence of Keith Wood.

The new look side, showing 13 changes from the selected team against
Wales, includes the return to international duty of backs Denis Hickie and Rob Henderson and prop forward John Hayes, each of whom missed the summer tour to Australia, Samoa and Tonga because of injury.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Victor Costello, who was forced to cry off the Welsh game because of injury, is back on the team at N0. 8 for his 31st appearance, while Marcus Horan
resumes his place at loose head prop, having been ruled out of
selection against Wales because of an ankle injury, while neither Ronan O’Gara nor Shane Horgan were considered because of injury.

Ireland ( v Italy, Thomond Park, Aug. 30th, 3pm).

15 – Girvan Dempsey (Leinster – Terenure College)
14 – John Kelly (Munster – Cork Constitution)
13 – Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster – Blackrock College) capt.
12 – Rob Henderson (Munster – Garryowen)
11 – Denis Hickie (Leinster – St. Mary’s College)
10 – David Humphreys (Ulster – Dungannon)
9 – Guy Easterby (Rotherham)
1 – Marcus Horan (Munster – Shannon)
2 – Shane Byrne (Leinster – Blackrock College)
3 – John Hayes (Munster – Shannon)
4 – Gary Longwell (Ulster – Ballymena)
5 – Leo Cullen (Leinster – Blackrock College)
6 – Simon Easterby (Llanelli)
7 – Eric Miller (Leinster – Terenure College)
8 – Victor Costello (Leinster – St. Mary’s College)

16 – Paul Shields (Ulster – Ballymena)
17 – Justin Fitzpatrick (Castres)
18 – Donncha O’Callaghan (Munster -Cork Constitution)
19 – Kieron Dawson (London Irish)
20 – Brian O’Meara (Leinster – Cork Constitution)
21 – Geordan Murphy (Leicester)
22 – Jonathan Bell (Ulster – Dungannon).