Jump to main content


Ireland Squad For Game v Italy.

Ireland Squad For Game v Italy.

David Humphreys, Geordan Murphy and Brian O’Driscoll are the only players from last Saturday’s starting XV to be included in the squad for the game against Italy.

David Humphreys, Geordan Murphy and Brian O’Driscoll are the only survivors from the team which lined out against Wales who are included in a new look squad of 22 from which the Ireland side to play Italy in the
permanent tsb international at Thomond Park on Saturday, August 30th will be chosen.

The Irish team will be announced in Limerick on Tuesday next from a panel which includes Victor Costello, who was a late withdrawal from the
Welsh game because of a calf strain, prop forward John Hayes and winger Denis Hickie, both of whom missed the summer tour to Australia, Tonga and
Samoa because of a groin injuries. Marcus Horan, who was not available for selection against Wales because of an ankle injury, is also in the panel.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Forwards (12): Shane Byrne (Leinster/Blackrock College), Victor
Costello (Leinster/St. Mary’s College), Leo Cullen (Leinster/Blackrock College), Kieron Dawson (London Irish), Simon Easterby (Llanelli), Justin Fitzpatrick
(Castres), John Hayes (Munster/Shannon), Marcus Horan (Munster/Shannon), Gary Longwell (Ulster/Ballymena), Eric Miller (Leinster/Terenure College), Donnacha O’Callaghan (Munster/Cork Constitution), Paul Shields (Ulster/allymena).

Bcks (10):
Jonathan Bell (Ulster/Dungannon), Girvan Dempsey (Leinster/
Terenure College), Guy Easterby (Rotherham), Denis Hickie (Leinster/St.Mary’s College), Rob Henderson (Munster/ Garryowen), John Kelly (Munster/Cork Constitution), Geordan Murphy (Leicester), Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster/Blackrock College), Brian O’Meara (Leinster/Cork Constitution), David Humphreys (Ulster/Dungannon).