Jump to main content


Ireland Squad For Welsh Game

Ireland Squad For Welsh Game

The 25 player squad from which the side to play Wales will be selected has been announced with injury continuing to rule out Leinster’s Shane Horgan.

The Ireland Squad of 25 from which the team to play Wales in the RBS 6 Nations Championship in the Millennium Stadium, Cardiff on Saturday, March 22nd at 14.00hrs will be announced next Tuesday, is:

Forwards: Shane Byrne (Leinster/Blackrock College), Victor Costello, (Leinster/St. Mary’s College), Leo Cullen (Leinster/Blackrock College), Justin Fitzpatrick (Ulster/Dungannon), Anthony Foley
(Munster/Shannon), Keith Gleeson (Leinster/St. Mary’s College), John Hayes (Munster/Shannon), Marcus Horan (Munster/Shannon), Gary Longwell (Ulster/Ballymena), Malcolm O’Kelly (Leinster/St. Mary’s College), Alan
Quinlan (Munster/Shannon), Frank Sheahan (Munster/Cork Constitution), A.N. Other.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Backs: Justin Bishop (London Irish), Girvan Dempsey (Leinster/Terenure
College), Guy Easterby (Llanelli), Rob Henderson Munster/Young Munster), Denis Hickie (Leinster/St. Mary’s College), David Humphreys (Ulster/Dungannon, John Kelly (Munster/Cork Constitution), Kevin Maggs (Bath), Geordan Murphy (Leicester), Ronan O’Gara (Munster/Cork
Constitution), Brian O’Driscoll capt (Leinster/Blackrock College) Peter Stringer (Munster/Shannon).

Players not considered due to injury: Jonathan Bell (Ulster/Dungannon) {Shoulder},
Reggie Corrigan (Leinster/Lansdowne) {Arm}, Shane Horgan
(Leinster/Lansdowne) {Thigh}, David Wallace (Munster/Garryowen){Shoulder}, Paul Wallace (Lenister/Blackrock College) {Shoulder}, Keith Wood
(Harlequins) {Shoulder}.

The Irish management have made the following players available for their
clubs this weekend: Emmet Byrne (Leinster/St. Mary’s College), Leo Cullen (Leinster/Blackrock College), Guy Easterby (Llanelli), Justin Fitzpatrick (Ulster/Dungannon), Rob Henderson (Munster/Young Munster), Paul O’Connell
(Munster/Young Munster), Ronan O’Gara (Munster/Cork Constitution), Alan Quinlan (Munster/Shannon) and Frank Sheahan (Munster/Cork Constitution).