Jump to main content


Irish Colleges Finalise Starting Line-Up

Irish Colleges Finalise Starting Line-Up

Irish Colleges Finalise Starting Line-Up

On Friday next (March 7th) the famous Stade Toulousain
arrives on these shores for a game against the Irish Colleges Rugby XV at Park Avenue, (Railway Union RFC). This academy, the direct feeder for a Toulouse team running rampant in the Heineken Cup, has provided a substantial amount of players to the French National Senior team.

The Irish Colleges team boasts no fewer than 20 AIL players who participate on a weekly basis in the domestic colleges competitions.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the back division, players include Gary Conway (Waterford Institute of Technology), who is firing Waterpark to the top of Division three with his try taking and Daithi Fitzgerald (Limerick Institute Of Technology) who scored the decisive try over Thomond in the crucial division two clash last weekend. Denis Fogarty, brother of Munster Senior panelist John and current Munster under 21 is another player to catch the eye whilst backrow player Frank Cogan has been selected on the Cork Constitution senior team this season and he is joined in the back-row by Munster senior player Denis Leamy.

Irish Colleges XV (v Stade Toulousain Academy, Friday 7th March, Railway Union Rugby Club, Park Avenue, Sandymount, 4pm).

15 – Andrew Finn (CIT/Sundays Well)
14 – John Cleary (GMI/Galwegians)
13 – William Wallace (AIT/Buccaneers)
12 – Richards Allen (UUJ/Portadown)
11 – Gary Conway (WIT/Waterpark)
10 – Daithi Fitzgerald (LIT/Old Crescent)
9 – Frank Murphy (CIT/UCC)
8 – Daragh McDonagh (LIT/Old Crescent)
7 – Frank Cogan (CIT/ Cork Constitution)
6 – Denis Leamy (CIT/UCC)
5 – Niall Smullen (AIT/Buccaneers)
4 – John Duffy (WIT/Waterpark)
3 – Aonnorai O’Donovan (CIT/Sundays Well)
2 – Ciaran O’Kane (UUJ/Portadown)
1 – Cillian Duffy (Garda/Clontarf)

Replacements: 16 – Les Hogan (UL/Shannon),
17 – Denis Fogarty (CCC/Cork Constitution),
18 – Quintin Caulfield (UUJ/Instonians)
19 – John Ed O’Connor (UL/UL Bohemians),
20 – Jamie Heaslip (DCU/Trinity),
21 – Paddy O’Sullivan
22 – Jamie Turkington (UUJ/Dungannon),
23 – Conor Quaid (CIT/UCC),
24 – Niall O’Hara (AIT/Buccaneers)

Stade Toulousain U21: Johann Lopes; Julien Depolo, Quentin Rinie, Julien Ciurana, Anthony Combes; David Egea, Marc Abello; Fabien Barcella, Gregory Fouque, Gregory Segur, Elie Okouya, Jean-Frangois Montauriol; Guillaume Scheller capt, Benjamin Martin, Sylvain Peguillan.
Replacements: 16 – Pierre Jean Husson, 17 – Benoit Selme, 18 – Armand
Fabien,19 – Wilfried Pedoussaut, 20 – Arthur Bohler, 21 – Simon Mot, 22 – San Vincente.