Jump to main content


Leamy For Williams In Munster Side.

Leamy For Williams In Munster Side.

Munster coach Alan Gaffney has included rising star Denis Leamy in his side for tomorrow’s Celtic League clash with Caerphilly at Thomond Park.(7.35pm)

Denis Leamy comes into the Munster back-row for the clash with Caerphilly at Thomond Park (7.35pm) as Munster coach Alan Gaffney gives his skipper, Jim Williams the opportunity to rest a minor knee complaint. “We’re leaving Jimmy sit this one out,” said Gaffney, “purely as a precautionary measure. He does have a slight problem with his knee but it’s not something that’s of great concern. However, with a player like Denis to call on, we feel it prudent to give Jimmy a break.”

Leamy was highly impressive in the last game he played (v Ulster) and a measure of the regard he’s held in by the Munster coach is highlighted by the fact that he is preferred to the more experienced Eddie Halvey in the Munster starting XV.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Munster are already sure of a quarter-final place but need to win and gain a bonus point to ensure themselves home advantage at that stage.

Munster. Dominic Crotty; John Kelly, Mike Mullins, Jason Holland, Mossie Lawlor; Ronan O’Gara, Peter Stringer; Marcus Horan, Frankie Sheahan, John Hayes, Mick Galwey, Mick O’Driscoll, Alan Quinlan, Denis Leamy, A Foley (capt.).
Replacements: James Blaney, Simon Kerr, Eddie Halvey, Peter Malone, Mike Prendergast, John O’Neill, Killian Keane.

Sione Tuipolutu; Ryan Howells, Sam Cox, Roddy Boobyer, Taunaholo Taufahema; Jarrod Murphy, Scott Headington; Lee Manning, Christian Ferris (Capt.) Richard Skuse; Mark Workman, Nic Rouse; Rhys Lloyd, Joe El-Abd, Andrew Williams.
Replacements: Fionn McLoughlin, Owain Ashman, Steve Goddard, Paul Jones, Geraint Liddon, Gareth Williams, A. N. Other.

Meanwhile, Irish international Guy Easterby is included in the Llanelli side for the crucial Celtic League clash with Ulster in Ravenhill tomorrow night (Fri) but his brother Simon is still ruled out with a shoulder (AC joint) injury.
Llanelli. Garan Evans, Mark Jones, Matthew J Watkins, Salesi Finau, Tal Selley; Stephen Jones, Guy Easterby; Iestyn Thomas, Robin McBryde, John Davies, Luke Gross, Chris Wyatt, David Hodges, Dafydd Jones, Scott Quinnell.
Replacements: Martyn Madden, Phil John, Vernon Cooper, Jamie Cudmore, Dwayne Peel, Gareth Bowen, Barry Davies.

Leinster. (v Bridgend, Saturday). Girvan Dempsey; Denis Hickie, Brian O’Driscoll, Shane Horgan, Gordon D’Arcy; Christian Warner, Brian O’Meara;
Reg Corrigan (capt), Shane Byrne, Paul Wallace; Leo Cullen, Mal O’Kelly; Aidan McCullen, Keith Gleeson, Victor Costello.
Replacements: Emmett Byrne, Peter Smyth, Aidan Kearney, Des Dillon, Brian O’Riordan, David Quinlan, Adam Magro.