Jump to main content


Miller Out Of Leinster Side

Miller Out Of Leinster Side

Eric Miller has been forced to cry-off the Leinster Lions side for this evening’s Celtic League clash with Cardiff at the Arms Park (5.30pm).

Eric Miller has been forced to cry-off the Leinster Lions side for this evening’s clash with Cardiff in the Arms Park.
Miller is suffering from a stomach bug and his place will go to Aidan McCullen with Shane Jennings coming onto the bench.

Meanwhile Cardiff’s two new arrivals from South Africa, Donavan van Vuuren and Heino Senekal, both feature in the starting line-up.
The 25-year-old van Vuuren plays at full back and Namibian World Cup star Senekal wears the number 4 shirt. Head coach David Young said, “Donavan arrived a fortnight ago and Heino joined us last Thursday. Both have worked hard in training this week and we are taking the first opportunity to give them a game. I am also mindful that players such as Rhys Williams have been ever-present so far this season and need a break to re-charge their batteries. This is also in line with our stated intention to fully utilise the squad in our selections.”

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

With John Tait recovering from a sprained back sustained against Borders last Friday, Senekal packs down alongside Adam Jones in the second row. Cardiff’s other changes see Gary Powell coming in at tight-head prop and Nick Walne returning to the wing. Dan Baugh continues for his second full game at number 8 and similarly Pieter Muller plays again at centre.
Young added, “These were fairly straightforward selections. With three international wings to choose from, it is Craig Morgan’s turn to be rested and for Nick Walne to start. At prop I have been very pleased with the commitment and hard work of Ken Fourie and now Gary Powell gets his first start after three matches on the bench. Andrew Lewis has had a minor hip problem but hopes to be fit for replacement duty and Peter Rogers was also not available this week because of a back injury.”

Cardiff Donavan van Vuuren; Nick Walne, Jamie Robinson, Pieter Muller, Anthony Sullivan; Iestyn Harris, Ryan Powell; Tim Payne, Greg Woods, Gary Powell, Heino Senekal, Adam Jones, Rob Appleyard, Dan Baugh, Martyn Williams (capt).
Replacements: Kenneth Fourie, Andrew Lewis, Luke Tait, Dan McShane, Richard Smith, Nick Robinson, Rhys Williams.

Leinster: Christian Warner; Kieran Lewis, Shane Horgan, David Quinlan, Gordon D’Arcy; Andy Dunne, Brian O’Meara; Emmett Byrne, Peter Smyth (capt), Niall Treston; Ben Gissing, Aidan Kearney; Aidan McCullen, Liam Toland, Des Dillon.
Replacements: Peter Coyle, Gavin Hickie, Shane Jennings, Niall Breslin, Ben Willis, Matthew Leek, John McWeeney.

Referee: Iain Ramage (Scotland)