Jump to main content


Munster Triumphant in Llanelli

Munster Triumphant in Llanelli

Munster beat Llanelli 20 – 13 at Stradey. A magnificent kicking performance by Ronan O’Gara should impress Eddie O’Sullivan and could see Ronan in the No.10 shirt next Saturday.

An impressive Munster team secure a rare win at Stradey Park against
Llanelli. A magnificent kicking performance by Ronan O’Gara should easily impress
Eddie O’Sullivan and see Ronan in the No. 10 shirt for Ireland next weekend.

Three penalties from Ronan in the first half and two from Stephen Jones saw
a nail biting first half end at 9 points to 6 in Munsters favour. Ronan was
not only strong in his place kicking, his out of hand play was also a joy to
watch, and I am sure that he has without a doubt secured his position at No.10
for Ireland when they meet Romania next Saturday in Thomond Park.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The second half again was dominated by Ronan’s kicking but also by tremendous
line-out play by Mick O’Driscoll and Donnacha O’Callaghan. Two more penalties
by O’Gara widened the gap between the teams with Munster leading 15-6. Dominic
Crotty was replaced by Jeremy Staunton in the 57th minute. Stephen Jones missed
a crucial and out of character penalty, as Mike Mullins was sin binned for a
high tackle.. But with Munster down to 14 men Llanelli upped the pace and put
severe pressure on the Munster line, It was not long before the Munster defence
broke down as Mark Jones touched down for a fine try. Stephen Jones converted
from the sideline to leave the score at 15-13.

As Llanelli continued to put pressure on Munster it looked as if it was going
to end in their favour. But in the 79th minute a great tackle by Marcus Horan
released the ball to Ronan O’Gara, and with a beautiful cross field kick towards
Mossie Lawlor saw the youngster touch down to secure the Munster Win!.

The Teams:


(Dominic Crotty – Replaced by Jeremy Staunton), (John Kelly), (Mike Mullins),
(Rob Henderson), (Mossie Lawlor), (Ronan O’Gara), (Peter Stringer), (Marcus
Horan), (James Blaney), (John Hayes), (Donnacha O’Callaghan), (Mick O’Driscoll),
(Eddie Halvey – Replaced by Colm McMahon), (Alan Quinlan), (Anthony Foley) (Capt.).

Replacements – (John Fogarty), (Simon Kerr), (Mick Galwey), (Dominic Malone),
(Jason Holland).


(Garan Evans), (Mark Jones), (Matthew J Watkins), (Matt Cardey), (Salesi Finau),
(Stephen Jones), (Guy Easterby), (Scott Quinnell), (Ian Boobyer), (Simon Easterby),
(Paul Clapham), (Vernon Cooper) (Capt), (Martyn Madden), (Robin McBryde), (Iestyn

Replacements – (John Davies), (Marcus Thomas), (Bryn Griffiths), (Dafydd Jones),
(Dwayne Peel), (Gareth Bowen), (Barry Davies).


Ronan O’Gara (5 penalties), Mossie Lawlor (Try), Stephen Jones (2 pen, 1 conv),
Mark Jones (Try).


Munster 20 – Llanelli 13