Jump to main content


Shannon R.F.C Annual General Meeting 2002

Shannon R.F.C Annual General Meeting 2002

On Thursday night last Shannon RFC held their 117th Annual General Meeting after what has been the clubs most successful season ever.

The dazzling array of silverware on display was proof of that fact with two All Ireland trophies, First XV and Second XV, the Munster senior league and Cup, two Thirds trophies, Webb Cup (for the first time) and the Mc Inerney Cup along with two underage trophies, U/16 league and U/11 league. All of these were the main focus for the various speeches of the outgoing and incoming personnel.

In his address to the meeting, outgoing President Bob Keane reflected on the tremendous year that he was fortunate to preside over and told of his immense pride that he took from his role. He thanked everybody involved for their assistance to him and the club over the season past and he wished the incoming president the very best.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

His speech concluded, he handed the Presidency over to Gerry Boland who has the honour of becoming Shannon RFC’s 70th President for the season 2002/2003.

Gerry’s association with Shannon began back in the late 50’s when he began playing underage rugby with the club. He won juvenile (U/18) and City (U/20) cups before he went on to win two Munster junior cup Medals in 1961 and 1962. When his playing career ended he remained active in the administration of the club and his new position is well deserved and we wish him well in his proud year. There were some other new appointees, with Tom O’Connor filling the position of assistant Hon. Secretary and Larry Guiren appointed junior vice president.

After a most successful 12-year reign as PRO, Bridgid O’Loughlin decided to step down from that position. Her tenure as PRO was marked with many highlights and its no coincidence that her period in office coincided with the most successful period in the clubs history. We wish her well in whatever her role she takes within the club after a well-deserved rest of course.

Andrew Mc Namara takes over the position for the coming season.

The officers for the coming season are.

President. – Gerry Boland.
Vice President. – Melvin McNamara.
Junior Vice President. – Larry Guiren.
Chairman. – Gerry O’Loughlin.
Hon Secretary. – Frank Mc Namara.
Assistant Secretary. – Tom O’Connor.
Treasurer. – Pat O’Connor.
Assistant Treasurer. – Neil O’Carroll.
Executive Officer. – Jack Keane.
PRO. -Andrew Mc Namara.

Geoff Moylan remains Senior coach, but the announcement of captains for the various teams will be decided over the summer break.