Jump to main content


Kyle named as Greatest Ever Irish Rugby Player

Kyle named as Greatest Ever Irish Rugby Player

Jack Kyle has been named as the Greatest Ever Irish rugby player and will be in attendance when the Lansdowne Legends are celebrated at a banquet in the Burlington Hotel, Dublin on May 17.

Out-half Kyle, capped 46 times and architect of Ireland’s only ever Grand Slam achieved in 1948, takes his place alongside other such legendary stars as Tom Kiernan, Tony O’Reilly, Mike Gibson, Ray McLoughlin, Willie John McBride and Fergus Slattery.

The Lansdowne Legends XV chosen by public poll in conjunction with a panel of rugby experts is: –
Tom Kiernan; Tony O’Reilly, Brian O’Driscoll, Mike Gibson, Simon Geoghegan; Jack Kyle, Peter Stringer; Ray McLoughlin, Keith Wood, Phil Orr, Willie John McBride, Donal Lenihan;
Fergus Slattery, John O’Driscoll, Willie Duggan.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Additional award category nominations were:
Greatest Ever Irish Player: Jack Kyle.
Greatest Ever Irish Captain: Karl Mullen.
Greatest Ever Ireland Coach: Syd Millar.
Greatest Ever Ireland Attacker: Mike Gibson.
Greatest Ever Ireland Defender: Jerry Walsh.
Greatest Ever Ireland Try: Trevor Ringland V. Scotland 1985.
Greatest Ever Ireland Kicker: Ollie Campbell.

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Ronnie Dawson.

Spirit of Irish Rugby:
Ciaran Fitzgerald.
Bravery Award: Philip Rainey, David Irwin, Nigel Carr.

The Celebration of the Lansdowne Legends is open to the public and you can be part of that unique evening of rugby at The Burlington Hotel by booking your table through The Hospitality Partnership (Tel: 01 – 6762728; e-mail: info@hospitalitypartnership.ie).
The IRFU’s Charitable Trust for Injured Players will benefit from the occasion.