Jump to main content


Draw for Womens World Cup

Draw for Womens World Cup

11/04/02.The draw has been made for the Women’s World Cup to be played in Barcelona from 13 to 25 May 2002 with Ireland in a strong Pool D that includes Canada, Scotland and Samoa.

Ireland, seeded 13th, open with a game against fourth seeded Canada on Monday May 13th and then play either fifth seeded Scotland or Samoa (12th seed) four days later.

The 16 teams are divided into four pools. The defending champions, New Zealand, are top seeds. The USA are seeded second, England third and Canada fourth. In recent matches England beat New Zealand 22-17 in New Zealand, the Black Ferns’ first defeat since the 1991 World Cup when the USA beat them 7-0.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There are actually four competitions. The pools first play off to determine the positions in each pool.

The four pool winners then play for the Winners Competition to determine the winners of the Women’s Rugby World Cup 2002.

The teams second in each pool then play in the Runners-Up Competition, those third in the Third Place Competition and those fourth in the Fourth Place Competition.

The teams and pools are:
POOL A: New Zealand, Australia, Wales, Germany.
POOL B: USA, France, Kazakhstan , Netherlands.
POOL C: England, Spain, Japan, Italy.
POOL D: Canada, Scotland, Samoa, Ireland.

Round One Fixtures,
Monday, 13 May. New Zealand vs Germany: Australia vs Wales: USA vs Netherlands: France vs Kazakhstan: England vs Italy: Spain vs Japan: Canada vs Ireland: Scotland vs Samoa.