Jump to main content


Who Are The Lansdowne Legends

Who Are The Lansdowne Legends

The IRFU’s Charitable Trust for injured players will benefit from the proceeds of a gala dinner that will be held to honour who the public decide are the greatest players in Irish rugby.

Every generation has its own sporting heroes. And Irish rugby has produced some of the greatest names in the International game. Now there’s an opportunity for the public to select The Lansdowne Legends – the greatest Irish rugby players of all time in every position – and to attend the unique presentation dinner.

The arguments as to the best players of all time in Irish rugby are constant and fascinating. Who, for example, was the top out half – Jack Kyle, Ollie Campbell, Tony Ward?

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Was Karl Mullen a better hooker than Ciaran Fitzgerald or Keith Wood?

Who would you regard as the best ever player to wear the N0. 15 shirt for Ireland – Tom Kiernan, George Norton, Paddy Berkery, or one of the younger

Would Fergus Slattery be regarded as Ireland’s all time great wing forward?

Who would you name as the best second row forward – Willie John McBride,
Bill Mulcahy, Donal Lenihan, Moss Keane?

How would you rate Willie Duggan among the great No. 8s and what of the Trojan prop forwards – Ray McLoughlin, Sid Millar, Philip Orr and Peter Clohessy?

What of Tony O’Reilly, Kevin Flynn, Brendan Mullin, Tom Grace, Trevor Ringland, Paul Dean, Brian O’Driscoll, Mike Gibson and Denis Hickie among the many great backs to adorn Irish rugby teams?
It goes on and on and there is no end to the choice or to the debate.

Finally, the argument will be settled when The Lansdowne Legends are
determined by a poll being conducted in the Irish Independent Newspaper. Those nominated to be honoured, as the 15 Lansdowne Legends will be presented with an award to make the achievement at a gala dinner in The Burlington Hotel, Dublin on Friday, May 17, 2002. You can be part of that unique evening of rugby by booking your table through The Hospitality Partnership (Tel: 01 – 6762728; e-mail:
A table for 10 costs 1,600, to include a four course meal and drinks reception. Individual places can be booked at a cost of 160. An auction and raffle will be held on the night.
In addition to deciding on the 15 Lansdowne Legends, there will be 11 further Award Categories :
Greatest Ever Ireland Player.
Greatest Ever Ireland Captain.
Greatest Ever Ireland Coach.

Greatest Ever Ireland Attacker.
Greatest Ever Ireland Defender.
Greatest Ever Ireland Kicker.
Greatest Ever Ireland Try.
Lifetime Achievement Award.
Ireland’s Unsung Hero.
Bravery Award.

You can cast your vote in the Irish Independent Newspaper and enquire about attending the gala presentation Dinner via The Hospitality Partnership on Tel: 01 – 676 27 28; e-mail: info@hospitalitypartnership.ie