Jump to main content


Triple Crown for Ireland Students

Triple Crown for Ireland Students

Tries from Kieran Lewis and Simon Keogh, both converted by team captain Shane Moore who also added a penalty, gave the Ireland Students victory over Scotland in Donnybrook last night.

02/03/02.Ireland won the Students Triple Crown last night with a 17-12 win over Scotland at Donnybrook in front of about 2000 supporters. It was a victory the home side richly deserved their tries coming from Siom Keogh in the first half and Kieran Lewis (pictured), late in the second.

Team captain Shane Moore gave ireland the ideal start with a penalty in the opening minute and that lead was extended in the 13th when Moore added the points to Keogh’s try. They held that lead up to half time and were perhaps fortunate to do so as they came under intense pressure at the close of the half.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Three Craig Laidlaw penalties had the Scots right back in contention and looking dangerouswith ten minutes to go before Lewis – instrumental in the first try – struck for the crucial score.

Tom Hayes stole a Scottish line out throw and the ball was spread wide. David Quinlan made a searing break and then sent a perfectly timed pass to Lewis to scorch home. Moore added the points to ensure that the injury time penalty from Laidlaw was of no account.

Ireland Students.Dermot O’Sullivan (UCD);Gary Brown (Blackrock College / DU), Kieran Lewis (St. Mary’s College / DU), David Quinlan (Blackrock College), Simon Keogh (Old Belvedere / UCD); Shane Moore Captain (UCD), Eoghan Reddan (Young Munster / UL); Ronan Mc Cormack (Buccanners / Athlone IT), Jerry Flannery (Galwegians / UCC)
Peter Bracken (Galwegians / Athlone IT); Trevor Hogan (Balckrock College / DU), Tom Hayes (Shannon / Limerick IT);
Aidan Mc Cullen (Lansdowne / DU), Richard Woods (Blackrock College / DU), Des Dillon (UCD).Replacements: John Fogarty (Cork Constitution / UCC) for Flannery 61mn; Andy O’Brien (UCD / Cambridge) for McCormack 69 mn; Niall Breslin (UCD) for Hogan 35 mn; Peter Malone (Garryowen / UL); Mark McHugh (St. Mary’s College / UCD); Fiachra Baynes
(Lansdowne / Portobello); Seamus Mallon (Dungannon / QUB).

Referee. R Maybank (Eng).