Jump to main content


Ulster Finalise Men’s Squad For Next Season

Reuben Crothers 7/10/2023

Former Ireland Under-20 Men's captain Reuben Crothers is one of seven Ulster players who have had their contract renewals announced today ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

Ulster Rugby have confirmed the 43 professional players who will represent the province in the season ahead.

Following the news that out-half Aidan Morgan, and winger Werner Kok, will call Belfast home from next season onwards, Ulster have today announced contract renewals for seven senior Men’s players – Ben Carson, Reuben Crothers, Conor McKee, Martin Moore, Eric O’Sullivan, Matthew Rea, and David Shanahan – as their 2024/24 squad is confirmed.

James Humphreys also makes the move from the Ulster Rugby Academy into the senior set-up with a new one-year development contract. James McCormick receives a one-year extension to his current development contract.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

With a 43-strong squad, made up of 38 senior and five development players, 34 of whom were developed through the provincial player pathway, Richie Murphy has a total of 42 Irish-qualified players amongst the ranks.

On the confirmed professional squad for next season, Ulster’s Head of Rugby Operations and Recruitment, Bryn Cunningham, said: “Following the successful completion of our recruitment process, we are confident that we have laid the foundations for what we want to achieve from next season onwards, with the opportunity to further shape and strengthen the squad where required in 2025/26.

At Ulster Rugby, we have been clear on our focus to bring through young, homegrown talent into the senior set-up, and compliment this with strategic recruitment, which is clear to see from the 43 players signed-up for 2024/25.

“There is also the opportunity to showcase what we have been building through the Ulster Rugby player pathway over a number of years, and I’m looking forward to this hard work and investment paying dividends for the province.”

Head coach Murphy added: “Following a very enjoyable couple of months at Ulster, I’m looking forward to getting stuck into a new season with a strong squad who are ambitious in their goals for the year ahead.

We have a great crop of young guys coming through into the senior set-up who will cut their teeth alongside the experienced leaders in the group.

This is only the beginning for us and, together with the support staff, I’m looking forward to the challenges and opportunities that will come our way.”


Iain Henderson* (capt) (IQ)
John Andrew* (IQ)
Robert Baloucoune* (IQ)
Ben Carson* (IQ)
John Cooney (IQ)
Reuben Crothers* (IQ)
Nathan Doak* (IQ)
Jake Flannery (IQ)
Rob Herring (IQ)
James Hume* (IQ)
James Humphreys* (IQ)
Cormac Izuchukwu* (IQ)
Werner Kok
Michael Lowry* (IQ)
David McCann* (IQ)
James McCormick* (IQ)
Stuart McCloskey* (IQ)
Michael McDonald (IQ)
Conor McKee* (IQ)
Ethan McIlroy* (IQ)
Lorcan McLoughlin* (IQ)
James McNabney* (IQ)
Martin Moore (IQ)
Stewart Moore* (IQ)
Aidan Morgan (IQ)
Ben Moxham* (IQ)
Alan O’Connor* (IQ)
Eric O’Sullivan* (IQ)
Tom O’Toole* (IQ)
Jude Postlethwaite* (IQ)
Marcus Rea* (IQ)
Matthew Rea* (IQ)
Sean Reffell (IQ)
Callum Reid* (IQ)
Aaron Sexton* (IQ)
David Shanahan* (IQ)
Harry Sheridan* (IQ)
Tom Stewart* (IQ)
Jacob Stockdale* (IQ)
Nick Timoney* (IQ)
Kieran Treadwell (IQ)
Andrew Warwick* (IQ)
Scott Wilson* (IQ)

* Denotes players developed through the Ulster Rugby player pathway, with (IQ) listed beside Irish-qualified players. Development players are in italics.