Jump to main content


Farrell And Conway To Feature For Munster Against Southern Kings

Farrell And Conway To Feature For Munster Against Southern Kings

Centre Chris Farrell will line out for Munster in Cork on Friday less than a week on from tasting victory with Ireland in Edinburgh ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson

The Munster team has been named for Friday night’s GUINNESS PRO14 clash with the Isuzu Southern Kings at Irish Independent Park (kick-off 7.35pm). The West Stand is sold out but Terrace tickets are available to buy here from Ticketmaster.

There are seven changes to the side that defeated the Dragons 8-7 in Munster’s last outing three weeks ago. Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Niall Scannell, John Ryan and Billy Holland all return from Ireland duty to start the round 15 fixture.

Tyler Bleyendaal captains the province in his first start at out-half this season, having lined out at inside centre previously. Mike Haley combines with Conway and Darren Sweetnam in the back-three, while Farrell, who helped Ireland overcome Scotland last Saturday, and Rory Scannell pair up in midfield, and Bleyendaal will have Neil Cronin alongside him at half-back.

In the forwards, Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell and tighthead Ryan pack down together in the front row with Jean Kleyn and Holland in the engine room. Flanker Chris Cloete will make his first appearance since sustaining a neck injury in December, joining forces with Fineen Wycherley and Arno Botha in the back row.

In another fitness boost, JJ Hanrahan has recovered from the hip injury he suffered last month to take his place in the squad with Academy back rower Gavin Coombes also named among the replacements. This is the Southern Kings’ first ever visit to Munster, who are currently top of the Conference A table.

MUNSTER (v Isuzu Southern Kings): Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Darren Sweetnam; Tyler Bleyendaal (capt), Neil Cronin; Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell, John Ryan, Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland, Fineen Wycherley, Chris Cloete, Arno Botha.

Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Liam O’Connor, Stephen Archer, Darren O’Shea, Gavin Coombes, Alby Mathewson, JJ Hanrahan, Dan Goggin.