Jump to main content


Leinster To Field Mix Of Youth And Experience Against Scarlets

Leinster To Field Mix Of Youth And Experience Against Scarlets

The Leinster team to play the Scarlets in the GUINNESS PRO14 at the RDS on Friday (kick-off 7.35pm) has been named by head coach Leo Cullen. The province are currently 19 points clear at the top of Conference B.

The Leinster coaches have included seven Academy players in the matchday 23, while a number of senior players are also recalled and 20-year-old Academy second row Jack Dunne is standing by for a potential senior debut.

Rob Kearney is back from a quad injury to take his place as captain at full-back, with the fit-again Barry Daly, who returned against Ulster recently, on the right wing and James Lowe back from suspension on the left.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Academy back Conor O’Brien and Rory O’Loughlin are paired together at centre having also started against Connacht last month, while 20-year-old Meath man Hugh O’Sullivan comes in for his first start at half-back alongside Skerries native Ciaran Frawley.

Jack McGrath was released from Ireland’s Six Nations squad to get some game-time against the Scarlets, so he packs down in the front row along with fellow internationals James Tracy and Michael Bent. Ross Molony and Mick Kearney combine in the engine room, as they did against Ulster last time out in the PRO14.

Max Deegan moves to blindside flanker in a back row completed by Scott Penny, who is part of the Ireland Under-20 squad for their Six Nations campaign, and Caelan Doris. Added to the bench, Dublin University clubman Dunne is in line to become the 1276th Leinster senior player.

Match tickets for the Leinster v Scarlets round 14 tie, priced from 28 euro, are available to buy now from Ticketmaster.ie.

LEINSTER (v Scarlets): Rob Kearney (capt); Barry Daly, Rory O’Loughlin, Conor O’Brien, James Lowe; Ciaran Frawley, Hugh O’Sullivan; Jack McGrath, James Tracy, Michael Bent, Ross Molony, Mick Kearney, Max Deegan, Scott Penny, Caelan Doris.

Replacements: Bryan Byrne, Ed Byrne, Vakh Abdaladze, Jack Dunne, Oisin Dowling, Jamison Gibson-Park, Noel Reid, Jimmy O’Brien.