Jump to main content


Ruddock Leads Leinster For Toulouse Test

Ruddock Leads Leinster For Toulouse Test

Adam Byrne and Sean Cronin are the only players retained in the Leinster team from last week’s derby dismissal of Ulster, as Leo Cullen’s men aim for revenge against Pool 1 leaders Toulouse at the RDS on Saturday (kick-off 1pm).

Captain Jonathan Sexton (knee) and Devin Toner (ankle) lead the list of absentees for Leinster, who also head into the sold-out Heineken Champions Cup game without Rob Kearney, who picked up a quad injury this week, Robbie Henshaw, who only returned to training in recent days, and the suspended James Lowe.

Kearney’s place at full-back goes to Jordan Larmour, who also donned the number 15 jersey in October’s 28-27 defeat in Toulouse, with Adam Byrne, a try scorer last time out in Europe against Bath, and Dave Kearney filling the wing berths.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The 23-year-old Ross Byrne steps in for Sexton at half-back, supported by Luke McGrath at scrum half and the midfield duo of Garry Ringrose and Rory O’Loughlin, who started together against Bath and Munster last month with O’Loughlin in man-of-the-match form at the Aviva Stadium.

Sean Cronin, who touched down twice against Ulster last Saturday, is joined by Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong in the front row, while Australian international Scott Fardy comes in for his first Champions Cup start of the campaign, partnering James Ryan in the engine room.

Rhys Ruddock takes the captaincy reins, leading the province from the back row alongside Josh van der Flier and number 8 Jack Conan, with Dan Leavy having sustained a calf injury in training. Mullingar native Conor O’Brien is poised to make his European debut off the bench, having impressed in the recent rounds of the GUINNESS PRO14.

Meanwhile, DART officials have advised Leinster Rugby that there is a limited service running this weekend due to engineering works taking place in Pearse Station.

All services from the northside will terminate in Connolly Station and all services southside will terminate in Grand Canal Dock Station. Dublin Bus will honour all tickets/Leap cards.

LEINSTER (v Toulouse): Jordan Larmour; Adam Byrne, Garry Ringrose, Rory O’Loughlin, Dave Kearney; Ross Byrne, Luke McGrath; Cian Healy, Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Scott Fardy, James Ryan, Rhys Ruddock (capt), Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan.

Replacements: James Tracy, Ed Byrne, Andrew Porter, Ross Molony, Max Deegan, Jamison Gibson-Park, Noel Reid, Conor O’Brien.