Jump to main content


O’Mahony And Farrell Return For Munster’s Clash With Connacht

O’Mahony And Farrell Return For Munster’s Clash With Connacht

Munster head coach Johann van Graan has made seven personnel changes to the team to play Connacht at the Sportsground on Saturday night (kick-off 7.35pm).

Peter O’Mahony, who missed last Saturday’s derby victory at home to Leinster, captains the side as Chris Farrell returns from a thigh injury and Tommy O’Donnell, Alex Wootton, Alby Mathewson, Jeremy Loughman and Arno Botha also come into the starting XV.

Corkman Billy Holland is named among the replacements and is set to make a landmark 200th Munster appearance. In doing so, Holland will become only the tenth Munster player to play 200 senior games for the province.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Andrew Conway moves to full-back for the round 13 clash in Galway, with Keith Earls on the right wing and Wootton on the opposite side. Dan Goggin is joined by the fit-again Farrell in the centre with New Zealander Mathewson linking up with Joey Carbery at half-back.

Loughman packs down in the front row with Niall Scannell and John Ryan, and Jean Kleyn and Tadhg Beirne, the man-of-the-match winner against Leinster last time out, continue together in the second row. O’Mahony, O’Donnell and Botha form a completely new back row.

MUNSTER (v Connacht): Andrew Conway; Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Dan Goggin, Alex Wootton; Joey Carbery, Alby Mathewson; Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell, John Ryan, Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne, Peter O’Mahony (capt), Tommy O’Donnell, Arno Botha.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Dave Kilcoyne, Stephen Archer, Billy Holland, CJ Stander, Conor Murray, Tyler Bleyendaal, Sam Arnold.