Jump to main content


Ulster Make Four Changes For Galway Trip

Ulster Make Four Changes For Galway Trip

Ulster head coach Dan McFarland has made four changes in personnel for Friday’s GUINNESS PRO14 trip to Galway to face Connacht. The interprovincial derby kicks off at 7.35pm.

The Ulstermen won the first of their three successive interprovincial derbies last weekend, overcoming Munster 19-12 at Kingspan Stadium, and three of the changes for the round 12 game against Connacht are in the back-line.

Johnny McPhillips, Abbey Insurance Academy youngster Angus Kernohan and Darren Cave are all handed starting berths, with McPhillips coming in to partner John Cooney at half-back, and Cave joining fellow Ireland international Will Addison in midfield.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Kernohan, who only turns 20 in March, starts on the left wing in a back-three anchored by the experienced Louis Ludik. Lining out on the right wing is Henry Speight who will be making his final Ulster appearance before returning to Australia.

Nick Timoney is the final change, making up a powerful back row unit with Jordi Murphy and Marcell Coetzee, the province’s man-of-the-match against Munster. Rob Herring continues as captain, flanked by Academy prop Eric O’Sullivan and Martin Moore in the front row, with Ian Nagle and Kieran Treadwell again manning the engine room.

25-year-old prop Tommy O’Hagan is set to earn his first Ulster cap if called upon from the bench. Adam McBurney, Ross Kane, Clive Ross and Greg Jones are the additional forward options, with David Shanahan, Peter Nelson and Stuart McCloskey providing the back-line cover.

The Connacht v Ulster match is likely to be a sell-out, so supporters are advised to purchase the last remaining tickets today by clicking here. There are tickets available for the Bohermore Terrace, priced between 10 and 27.50 euro.

ULSTER (v Connacht): Louis Ludik; Henry Speight, Will Addison, Darren Cave, Angus Kernohan; Johnny McPhillips, John Cooney; Eric O’Sullivan, Rob Herring (capt), Martin Moore, Ian Nagle, Kieran Treadwell, Nick Timoney, Jordi Murphy, Marcell Coetzee.

Replacements: Adam McBurney, Tommy O’Hagan, Ross Kane, Clive Ross, Greg Jones, David Shanahan, Peter Nelson, Stuart McCloskey.