Jump to main content


International Quartet Returns To Ulster Starting Line-Up

International Quartet Returns To Ulster Starting Line-Up

Ireland internationals Iain Henderson and Will Addison are back in the Ulster team for Friday night’s crucial Heineken Champions Cup round 3 clash with Scarlets in Llanelli (kick-off 7.45pm).

Ireland captain Rory Best and prolific winger Jacob Stockdale, as well as Abbey Insurance Academy prop Eric O’Sullivan, are also included in the starting XV after featuring off the bench in last Saturday’s GUINNESS PRO14 home win over Cardiff Blues.

Hooker Best, who will equal Andrew Trimble’s Ulster record of 71 European appearances, will captain the side at Parc y Scarlets and will be joined in the front row by O’Sullivan and Ireland-capped tighthead Martin Moore.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Iain Henderson will combine with Kieran Treadwell, Ulster’s try scorer against the Blues last weekend, in the second row, while the all-international loose forwards trio of Sean Reidy, Jordi Murphy and Marcell Coetzee is unchanged.

Billy Burns and John Cooney are retained in the half-back positions, with recent Ireland debutant Will Addison and Stuart McCloskey paired together in midfield. Jacob Stockdale’s inclusion on the left wing results in Louis Ludik shifting to full-back, as Henry Speight is again named on the right flank.

Prop Kyle McCall could make his 50th Ulster appearance – and first since April – after recovering from surgery on a torn elbow tendon. He is joined on the bench by fellow forwards Rob Herring, Tom O’Toole, Matthew Rea and Nick Timoney, while David Shanahan, Johnny McPhillips and Darren Cave are the back-line reserves.

ULSTER (v Scarlets): Louis Ludik; Henry Speight, Will Addison, Stuart McCloskey, Jacob Stockdale; Billy Burns, John Cooney; Eric O’Sullivan, Rory Best (capt), Martin Moore, Iain Henderson, Kieran Treadwell, Sean Reidy, Jordi Murphy, Marcell Coetzee.

Replacements: Rob Herring, Kyle McCall, Tom O’Toole, Matthew Rea, Nick Timoney, David Shanahan, Johnny McPhillips, Darren Cave.