Jump to main content


Leinster Name Team For Champions Cup Opener Against Wasps

Leinster Name Team For Champions Cup Opener Against Wasps

For Leinster’s Heineken Champions Cup opener at home to Wasps on Friday (kick-off 7.45pm), head coach Leo Cullen has made nine personnel changes and one positional switch to the team that defeated Munster 30-22 last weekend.

Jonathan Sexton will captain Leinster in the opening game of the province’s Champions Cup title defence, pairing up with Luke McGrath at half-back. Garry Ringrose comes in at outside centre while Robbie Henshaw is retained in the number 12 jersey for the RDS encounter.

Right winger Jordan Larmour is the only change to the back-three from last Saturday’s interprovincial derby, and a new front row of Cian Healy, Sean Cronin and Tadhg Furlong is selected in tandem with the retained second row pairing of Devin Toner and James Ryan.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Dan Leavy shifts from openside flanker to blindside as Josh van der Flier, who has had a strong start to the new season, features in the number 7 shirt and Jack Conan completes the back row, with the fit-again Sean O’Brien earning a place on the bench.

Leinster’s replacement options also include Scott Fardy, an EPCR European Player of the Year nominee last season, and fellow Australian international Joe Tomane who is poised to make his European debut for the province if introduced.

Tickets for Leinster’s opening Pool 1 clash with Wasps, who are currently third in the Gallagher Premiership table with four wins from six, are available to buy here.

LEINSTER (v Wasps): Rob Kearney; Jordan Larmour, Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw, James Lowe; Jonathan Sexton (capt), Luke McGrath; Cian Healy, Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, James Ryan, Dan Leavy, Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan.

Replacements: James Tracy, Jack McGrath, Andrew Porter, Scott Fardy, Sean O’Brien, Nick McCarthy, Ross Byrne, Joe Tomane.