Jump to main content


O’Sullivan And Reid Lead Leinster ‘A’ Back-Line

O’Sullivan And Reid Lead Leinster ‘A’ Back-Line

There are six personnel and five positional changes to the Leinster ‘A’ team for Saturday’s Celtic Cup round 3 match against their Scarlets counterparts at Parc y Scarlets (kick-off 2.30pm).

Coached by Academy manager Peter Smyth, Leinster ‘A’ stayed top of the Irish Conference table ahead of the other three provinces after last Saturday afternoon’s 57-10 bonus point win over Cardiff Blues ‘A’ at Energia Park.

Captain Jack Kelly moves from full-back to the left wing, with Hugo Keenan reverting from outside centre to anchor the back-three. Adam Byrne starts again on the right wing, while Jimmy O’Brien will make his Celtic Cup bow alongside Conor O’Brien in midfield.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There is a new half-back pairing as Leinster centurion Noel Reid comes in at out-half alongside Meath youngster Hugh O’Sullivan, who is fresh from making his senior debut as a replacement in last weekend’s GUINNESS PRO14 win over the Dragons.

The Leinster ‘A’ front row of Michael Milne, Ronan Kelleher and Vakh Abdaladze is retained from the second round, Oisin Dowling switches from the back row to the second row where he partners Jack Dunne, and Josh Murphy takes Dowling’s place at blindside flanker. Caelan Doris’ inclusion at number 8 sees Ronan Foley move over to the openside berth.

Leinster ‘A’ return to Energia Park next Friday night (September 28) to face the Ospreys Development team in round 4 of the Irish-Welsh development competition. Supporters can pay at the gate from €;10/5, while Leinster Rugby Season Ticket holders can enter for free when they present their card at the gate.

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v Scarlets ‘A’): Hugo Keenan; Adam Byrne, Conor O’Brien, Jimmy O’Brien, Jack Kelly (capt); Noel Reid, Hugh O’Sullivan; Michael Milne, Ronan Kelleher, Vakh Abdaladze, Oisin Dowling, Jack Dunne, Josh Murphy, Ronan Foley, Caelan Doris.

Replacements: Dan Sheehan, Giuseppe Coyne, Jack Aungier, Ryan Baird, Ronan Watters, Patrick Patterson, David Hawkshaw, Michael Silvester.