Jump to main content


O’Mahony Returns As Munster Give First Starts To Carbery And Beirne

O’Mahony Returns As Munster Give First Starts To Carbery And Beirne

The Munster team to face the Ospreys in the GUINNESS PRO14 at Irish Independent Park on Friday (kick-off 7.35pm) has been named by head coach Johann van Graan.

Captain Peter O’Mahony makes his first appearance of the campaign along with fellow returning international Andrew Conway, and Joey Carbery and Tadhg Beirne, two more players from Ireland’s successful summer tour, are set for their first starts for the province.

Chris Cloete makes a welcome return in the back row with the South African flanker out of action since February due to forearm and groin injuries. There are 11 changes to the side beaten 25-10 by Glasgow Warriors in Scotstoun last weekend.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Full-back Mike Haley and winger Darren Sweetnam keep their places with Conway completing the back-three. Dan Goggin comes into the starting back-line at inside centre with Sam Arnold wearing the number 13 jersey again and  Carbery and Duncan William forming the half-back partnership.

It is all change in the front five as James Cronin, Rhys Marshall and Stephen Archer come into the front row. Darren O’Shea captained Munster ‘A’ to an opening night Celtic Cup win last Friday and is rewarded with a place in the second row alongside first-time starter Beirne.

Arno Botha is the only forward to keep his place in the team and is joined in the back row by captain O’Mahony and Cloete. The round 3 match is Munster’s first competitive fixture on the new modified 3G surface at Irish Independent Park. The official opening of the new pitch by Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Simon Coveney, will take place ahead of the game.

All-Ireland Senior Camogie champions Cork will be special guests at the PRO14 clash along with the O’Duffy Cup, and the squad and trophy will be presented to the crowd at half-time. Munster v Ospreys tickets are available at munsterrugby.ie, from the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices in Irish Independent Park and Thomond Park, or by calling 061 421103.

The Ticket Office at Irish Independent Park will be open from 9am to 2pm on Friday and the Ticketmaster van at the Dolphin end of the stadium will be open from 2pm until kick-off. Ticket prices – adult stand: €;30, *student/junior stand: €;10, adult terrace: €;20; *student/junior terrace: €;7, and family pack (two adults & two juniors (terrace only)): €;40.

* Junior tickets can only be purchased with an adult ticket. Student tickets can only be purchased in person at our ticket offices. You will need a valid student ID card at time of purchase and to enter the ground on match day.

MUNSTER (v Ospreys): Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Sam Arnold, Dan Goggin, Darren Sweetnam; Joey Carbery, Duncan Williams; James Cronin, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer, Tadhg Beirne, Darren O’Shea, Peter O’Mahony (capt), Chris Cloete, Arno Botha.

Replacements: Mike Sherry, Dave Kilcoyne, John Ryan, Jean Kleyn, Tommy O’Donnell, James Hart, Ian Keatley, Jaco Taute.