Jump to main content


Muldoon To Lead Ulster Women From Full-Back

Muldoon To Lead Ulster Women From Full-Back

Muldoon To Lead Ulster Women From Full-Back

Kathryn Dane, a late withdrawal last week, returns at scrum half and captain Larissa Muldoon reverts to full-back for Ulster’s second round match against Munster in the IRFU Women’s Interprovincial Championship at Portadown RFC on Sunday (kick-off 1pm).

Head coach Derek Suffern has made two personnel changes and four positional switches to the Ulster side that lost 17-0 to Leinster on the opening night of the tournament in Blackrock last Friday.

The Ulster Women start with the same back-line originally selected to face Leinster, with Kathryn Dane set for her first appearance of the 2018 Women’s Interpros at scrum half. Skipper Larissa Muldoon reverts to full-back with Ella Durkan dropping back to the bench.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Cooke’s Shannon Heapes comes in at tighthead prop, and a reshuffled pack sees Sorcha Mac Laimhin move into the second row while Lauren Maginnes and Beth Cregan are now stationed at number 8 and blindside flanker respectively in an all-Cooke back row.

Talented youngster Brittany Hogan is a notable addition to the bench following her senior debut for the Ireland Women’s Sevens team in Kazan last weekend. Dublin University back Fiona Tuite, a new cap for Ulster in the first round, is also part of the matchday 23.

Portadown Rugby Club’s Chambers Park will be a hive of activity on Sunday with the Under-18 Women’s game between Ulster and Leinster kicking off at 12.30pm, and the Ulster and Munster senior sides locking horns at 1pm.

ULSTER WOMEN (v Munster Women): Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union) (capt); Eliza Downey (Cooke), Maeve Liston (Ballyshannon), Vicky Irwin (Cooke), Emma Jordan (Cooke); Jemma Jackson (Cooke), Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere); Ilse van Staden (Cooke), Neve Jones (Malone), Shannon Heapes (Cooke), Sorcha Mac Laimhin (Cooke), Rebecca Lawlor (Malone), Beth Cregan (Cooke), Claire McLaughlin (Cooke), Lauren Maginnes (Cooke).

Replacements: Michelle Gormley-McLaughlin (City of Derry), Aishling O’Connell (Cavan), Kathryn Hannah (Ballynahinch), Keelin Brady (Virginia), Ella Durkan (Malone), Peita McAlister (Malone), Fiona Tuite (Dublin University), Brittany Hogan (Railway Union).

Related Links –

IRFU Women’s Interpros Double Up With Under-18 Series

IRFU Women’s Interprovincial Championship Results/Fixtures/Table