Jump to main content


Beirne And Taute On The Bench For Munster’s Glasgow Trip

Beirne And Taute On The Bench For Munster’s Glasgow Trip

The Munster team to face Glasgow Warriors in Friday’s eagerly-awaited GUINNESS PRO14 clash at Scotstoun Stadium (kick-off 7.35pm) has been named by head coach Johann van Graan.

Jaco Taute makes a welcome return after missing almost a year of action due to a knee injury with the centre listed among the replacements. Ireland international Tadhg Beirne is also among the 23 with the new signing in line to make his Munster debut off the bench.

Billy Holland captains a Munster side that shows one change to the starting XV that beat the Toyota Cheetahs 38-0 last weekend as Sam Arnold, a second half replacement last time out, comes in at outside centre.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Round 1 debutant Mike Haley continues at full-back with Darren Sweetnam and Academy youngster Shane Daly on the wings. Rory Scannell is partnered by Arnold in midfield with the half-back pairing of JJ Hanrahan and Neil Cronin, who both impressed against the Cheetahs, unchanged.

There are no changes to the forwards with hooker Mike Sherry packing down alongside Dave Kilcoyne and John Ryan. Holland and Jean Kleyn are in the second row with Dave O’Callaghan and Tommy O’Donnell, who both touched down in the opening round and Arno Botha in the back row.

Rhys Marshall, James Cronin and Stephen Archer are the front row replacements for the current Conference A leaders, with the 20-year-old Fineen Wycherley and Beirne completing the forward cover. Duncan Williams, Joey Carbery and Taute are the back-line replacements.

MUNSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Mike Haley; Darren Sweetnam, Sam Arnold, Rory Scannell, Shane Daly; JJ Hanrahan, Neil Cronin; Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry, John Ryan, Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland (capt), Dave O’Callaghan, Tommy O’Donnell, Arno Botha.

Replacements: Rhys Marshall, James Cronin, Stephen Archer, Fineen Wycherley, Tadhg Beirne, Duncan Williams, Joey Carbery, Jaco Taute.