Jump to main content


Addison, Moore And Coetzee To Start For Ulster

Addison, Moore And Coetzee To Start For Ulster

The Ulster coaching ticket have named a 26-man squad to face Wasps in Friday’s final pre-season fixture at the Ricoh Arena (kick-off 7.30pm). There will be live updates on the Ulster Rugby Twitter page.

Summer signings Will Addison and Martin Moore are both named in the starting XV, with Ireland international Moore coming up against the club he played for for two years before moving to Ulster. Marcell Coetzee will also make his long-awaited return to action following a 12-month injury lay-off due to recurrent knee problems.

Alan O’Connor will once again captain the Ulstermen from the second row, with Kieran Treadwell partnering him in the engine room. Abbey Insurance Ulster Academy prop Eric O’Sullivan will start the game at loosehead with Moore on the tightheaad side and hooker John Andrew completing the front five.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Returning South African star Coetzee will wear the number 6 jersey in Coventry, with Ireland international Sean Reidy at openside flanker and Nick Timoney, who was one of Ulster’s try scorers during last week’s 29-17 loss to Gloucester, packing down at number 8.

Behind the pack, Johnny McPhillips and Jonny Stewart make up a youthful half-back partnership, and the 19-year-old duo of Angus Kernohan and Stewart Moore, who both made their first Ulster senior appearances against Gloucester, are included once more on the left wing and at outside centre respectively.

Fresh from the announcement of his new three-year deal with the province, Stuart McCloskey will join promising teenager Moore in the Ulster midfield, and Irish-qualified former Sale Sharks full-back Addison and Craig Gilroy join Kernohan in a pacy back-three.

ULSTER (v Wasps): Will Addison; Craig Gilroy, Stewart Moore, Stuart McCloskey, Angus Kernohan; Johnny McPhillips, Jonny Stewart; Eric O’Sullivan, John Andrew, Martin Moore, Alan O’Connor (capt), Kieran Treadwell, Marcell Coetzee, Sean Reidy, Nick Timoney.

Replacements: Adam McBurney, Andrew Warwick, Tom O’Toole, Alex Thompson, Caleb Montgomery, David Shanahan, Angus Curtis, Darren Cave, Greg Jones, Chris Henry, Jack Owens.