Jump to main content


Munster Make A Dozen Changes For Semi-Final Qualifier

Munster Make A Dozen Changes For Semi-Final Qualifier

The Munster team has been named by head coach Johann van Graan for Saturday’s GUINNESS PRO14 semi-final qualifier against Edinburgh at Thomond Park (kick-off 3.15pm).

Simon Zebo starts at full-back in his final game for Munster at Thomond Park, with 12 changes made to the side that drew 24-all with Ulster in the final round of the PRO14’s regular season last Saturday.

Munster Rugby Player of the Year Keith Earls and Andrew Conway start on either flank, with Rory Scannell returning to the side at inside centre as Young Player of the Year Sam Arnold keeps his place. JJ Hanrahan is also retained at out-half and is partnered by Conor Murray.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

James Cronin, man-of-the-match in last week’s interprovincial clash, starts at loosehead prop with Rhys Marshall and Stephen Archer both returning to the side. Jean Kleyn and Billy Holland are back in the engine room with captain Peter O’Mahony, Jack O’Donoghue and CJ Stander making up the back row.

Mike Sherry, Dave Kilcoyne and Ciaran Parker provide the front row cover, while Gerbrandt Grobler and Robin Copeland are set to make their final Munster appearances at Thomond Park as replacements. James Hart, Ian Keatley and Darren Sweetnam complete the bench.

The winners of the semi-final qualifier will travel to the RDS to face Leinster at the semi-final stage on Saturday, May 19 (kick-off 3.15pm). Munster are running a special children’s offer for the Edinburgh match as up to four kids go free if you purchase tickets online.

Munster v Edinburgh tickets are available to buy via Ticketmaster.ie, from the Munster Rugby ticket offices in Irish Independent Park and Thomond Park, or by calling 061-421103.

MUNSTER (v Edinburgh): Simon Zebo; Andrew Conway, Sam Arnold, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; JJ Hanrahan, Conor Murray; James Cronin, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer, Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland, Peter O’Mahony (capt), Jack O’Donoghue, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Mike Sherry, Dave Kilcoyne, Ciaran Parker, Gerbrandt Grobler, Robin Copeland, James Hart, Ian Keatley, Darren Sweetnam.