Jump to main content


Muldoon To Make His 327th And Final Appearance In Connacht Green

Muldoon To Make His 327th And Final Appearance In Connacht Green

Connacht captain John Muldoon is set to lead the province out for the final time when they take on Leinster at the Sportsground on Saturday (kick-off 3.05pm). In the process, he will make his 327th Connacht appearance having made his debut back in October 2003.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

John Muldoon is named in his familiar number 8 position, alongside flankers Eoin Mc Keon and Jarrad Butler, for the GUINNESS PRO14 final round clash with the Champions Cup finalists. Lock Gavin Thornbury starts against his native province in what will be his 14th appearance of the season. Thornbury combines with Quinn Roux, while Ultan Dillane will provide back-up from the bench.

In the back-line, Tom Farrell and Bundee Aki continue their centre partnership, while the back-three of full-back Tiernan O’Halloran and wingers Matt Healy and Niyi Adeolokun remains unchanged.

Looking forward to facing high-flying Leinster at a packed-out Sportsground, Muldoon spoke of the immense challenge that his Connacht side face, saying: “It’s my final time to throw on the green jersey and I just want to do the lads justice before I bow out at the Sportsground. It has actually crept up on me and I have had mixed emotions this week when I have gone into training with the lads.

“It’s been bittersweet getting ready for this game against Leinster. It has built up nicely towards a game against a phenomenal team and they were outstanding in their Champions Cup win over Scarlets again last weekend.

“It certainly won’t be easy to finish my career against them, but I am looking forward to getting stuck into my last game for my province,” added the Portumna man, who is hanging up his boots before taking up a role as defence coach with Pat Lam’s Bristol side.
CONNACHT (v Leinster): Tiernan O’Halloran; Niyi Adeolokun, Tom Farrell, Bundee Aki, Matt Healy; Jack Carty, Kieran Marmion; Denis Buckley, Shane Delahunt, Finlay Bealham, Gavin Thornbury, Quinn Roux, Eoin McKeon, Jarrad Butler, John Muldoon (capt).

Replacements: Tom McCartney, Peter McCabe, Conor Carey, Ultan Dillane, Eoghan Masterson, Caolin Blade, Craig Ronaldson, Darragh Leader.