Jump to main content


Leinster Trio Shortlisted For EPCR European Player Of The Year Award

Leinster Trio Shortlisted For EPCR European Player Of The Year Award

Leinster and Racing 92 have been rewarded for the performances that have seen them book their places in next month’s Champions Cup final in Bilbao, with the two teams dominating the shortlist for the prestigious EPCR European Player of the Year 2018 award – presented by Turkish Airlines.

Scott Fardy is one of three Leinster representatives in contention to win one of the most prized individual accolades in the world game, following his outstanding Heineken man-of-the-match performance against the Scarlets at the Aviva Stadium.

The Australia international is joined by provincial team-mates, Tadhg Furlong and Jonathan Sexton, with the latter’s personal haul of 18 points in the semi-final taking him to 605 European Cup career points and sixth place on the all-time list.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The 15 Player of the Year nominees have been trimmed to five based on the combined verdict of a distinguished panel of rugby experts and the public vote. Highlighting particularly impressive displays in Racing 92’s quarter-final and semi-final victories, Maxime Machenaud was added to the elite shortlist where he joins team-mate Leone Nakarawa.

Public voting is now open on epcrugby.com/epoty and will close following the Champions Cup final at the San Mamés Stadium on Saturday, May 12. The winner will receive the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy, a specially-struck commemorative medal and one million air miles courtesy of Turkish Airlines.


Scott Fardy (Leinster)
Tadhg Furlong (Leinster)

Maxime Machenaud (Racing 92)
Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92)
Jonathan Sexton (Leinster)

Judging Panel: Stuart Barnes (Sky Sports/Sunday Times), Chris Jones (BBC Radio 5 Live), Matthieu Lartot (France Télévisions), Emmanuel Massicard (Midi Olympique), Brian O’Driscoll (BT Sport), Dimitri Yachvili (beIN Sports)

EPCR European Player of the Year Roll Of Honour –

2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens)
2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens)
2015: Nick Abendanon (Clermont Auvergne)
2014: Steffon Armitage (Toulon)
2013: Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon)
2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster)
2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster)
2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster) – best player of first 15 years of European club competitions