Jump to main content


Curtis To Make His B&I Cup Bow For Ulster ‘A’ Against Bedford

Curtis To Make His B&I Cup Bow For Ulster ‘A’ Against Bedford

The Ulster ‘A’ team has been announced for Saturday afternoon’s British & Irish Cup quarter-final away to Bedford Blues at Goldington Road (kick-off 3pm). The game will be streamed live on www.ulsterrugby.com.

The province’s coaches Kieran Campbell and Willie Anderson have opted for a settled squad, with 18 of the matchday 22 having been involved in at least three of their six pool games.

Ross Kane will captain the side from tighthead prop alongside Adam McBurney at hooker and loosehead Tommy O’Hagan. Matthew Dalton, one of 11 Abbey Insurance Ulster Academy players in the squad, joins the experienced Peter Browne in the second row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Marcus Rea and Clive Ross start at blindside and openside flanker respectively, with Greg Jones the other loose forward, while Peter Nelson and David Shanahan get the nod as the starting half-backs.

Angus Curtis, who impressed for the Ireland Under-20s during the recent Six Nations campaign, will make his first appearance in the British & Irish Cup. He starts in midfield beside the ever-present Callum Patterson.

The pace-laden duo of Aaron Cairns and Angus Kernohan, who played for the Ireland Under-19s against Japan on Wednesday, start on the wings, with Jack Owens retaining his place at full-back.

On the bench, the Ulster ‘A’ management have opted for a five-two forwards/backs split as Alexander Clarke, Eric O’Sullivan and Tom O’Toole will cover the front row, with Jack Regan and Matthew Agnew selected as the other forward replacements. Current Ireland U-20 internationals Jonny Stewart and James Hume will provide the back-line cover.

ULSTER ‘A’ (v Bedford Blues): Jack Owens; Angus Kernohan, Callum Patterson, Angus Curtis, Aaron Cairns; Peter Nelson, David Shanahan; Tommy O’Hagan, Adam McBurney, Ross Kane (capt), Matthew Dalton, Peter Browne, Marcus Rea, Clive Ross, Greg Jones.

Replacements: Alexander Clarke, Eric O’Sullivan, Tom O’Toole, Jack Regan, Matthew Agnew, Jonny Stewart, James Hume.