Jump to main content


Munster Side Shows Six Changes For Murrayfield Trip

Munster Side Shows Six Changes For Murrayfield Trip

The Munster team to face Edinburgh at BT Murrayfield in their rearranged GUINNESS PRO14 clash on Friday (kick-off 7.35pm) has been named by head coach Johann van Graan.

There are six changes to the side that defeated Glasgow Warriors at Irish Independent Park three weeks ago. Billy Holland captains the province on his 150th PRO14 appearance as JJ Hanrahan, Rory Scannell, Darren Sweetnam, Mike Sherry, Jack O’Donoghue and Conor Oliver are all drafted in.

Hooker Sherry makes his first PRO14 start since April 2016 after recovering from a long-term back injury, with fellow Ireland international Tommy O’Donnell named among the replacements and set to feature for the first time since sustaining a shoulder injury on New Year’s Day.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Simon Zebo lines out at full-back with Sweetnam on the right wing and Alex Wootton on the left flank. Scannell partners Sam Arnold in the centre with Hanrahan at out-half alongside scrum half James Hart.

James Cronin, one of the try scorers against Glasgow last time out in the Championship, keeps his starting place in the front row and is joined by hooker Sherry and tighthead Stephen Archer.

The second row of Jean Kleyn and skipper Holland remains in place, while there are two changes to the back row as O’Donoghue and Oliver come in to join forces with the Connacht-bound Robin Copeland.

Kevin O’Byrne, Dave Kilcoyne and Brian Scott make up the front row reserves and Darren O’Shea and the fit-again O’Donnell complete the forward cover. Academy scrum half Jack Stafford from Shannon, who is set to make his second senior appearance for Munster, is among the back-line options along with Bill Johnston and Dan Goggin.

MUNSTER (v Edinburgh): Simon Zebo; Darren Sweetnam, Sam Arnold, Rory Scannell, Alex Wootton; JJ Hanrahan, James Hart; James Cronin, Mike Sherry, Stephen Archer, Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland (capt), Jack O’Donoghue, Conor Oliver, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Dave Kilcoyne, Brian Scott, Darren O’Shea, Tommy O’Donnell, Jack Stafford, Bill Johnston, Dan Goggin.