Jump to main content


Munster ‘A’ Team Selected For B&I Cup Warm-Up Fixture

Munster ‘A’ Team Selected For B&I Cup Warm-Up Fixture

The Munster ‘A’ team to face Ulster ‘A’ in Banbridge on Thursday afternoon (kick-off 3pm) has been named by head coach Peter Malone.

The game will now be played at Banbridge Academy having initially been scheduled for Banbridge RFC. The clash gives Munster ‘A’ the chance to prepare for the eagerly-anticipated British & Irish Cup quarter-final against Leinster ‘A’ at Donnybrook on Friday, March 30 (kick-off 3pm).

There are six senior players in the province’s starting XV with nine Greencore Munster Rugby Academy players and a number of promising young club players also in the squad.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Senior player Dave Johnston captains the side at outside centre with Stephen Fitzgerald at full-back and Ronan O’Mahony on the left wing. The senior representation is completed by the front row of Jeremy Loughman, Rhys Marshall and Ciaran Parker.

Academy member Calvin Nash starts on the right wing with Ireland Sevens international Alex McHenry in midfield, Alan Tynan at out-half, Sean O’Connor in the second row and Gavin Coombes in the number 8 position.

UCC clubman John Poland starts at scrum half with Cork Constitution’s Sean Duffy in the second row as Garryowen duo Mikey Wilson and Jack Daly, who both played for the Light Blues against Terenure College last Sunday, take their places in the back row.

Academy players Joey Conway, Rob O’Donovan, Jack Power and Liam Coombes are among the replacements along with the UCC trio of Tadgh McCarthy, John Hodnett and Peter Sylvester, and Dolphin’s Colin Sisk.

MUNSTER ‘A’ (v Ulster ‘A’): Stephen Fitzgerald; Calvin Nash, Dave Johnston (capt), Alex McHenry, Ronan O’Mahony; Alan Tynan, John Poland; Jeremy Loughman, Rhys Marshall, Ciaran Parker, Sean Duffy, Sean O’Connor, Mikey Wilson, Jack Daly, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Tadgh McCarthy, Joey Conway, Rob O’Donovan, John Hodnett, Colin Sisk, Peter Sylvester, Jack Power, Liam Coombes.