Jump to main content


Bleyendaal And O’Callaghan To Start For Munster

Bleyendaal And O’Callaghan To Start For Munster

The Munster team to face Conference A leaders Glasgow Warriors at Irish Independent Park in the GUINNESS PRO14 on Friday (kick-off 7pm) has been named.

Billy Holland captains the side in his 180th appearance for the province, as head coach Johann van Graan makes 12 changes to the team beaten 25-18 by Cardiff Blues in Welsh capital last week.

Simon Zebo starts at full-back and Andrew Conway returns from Ireland camp to start on the right wing, with Alex Wootton, Munster’s top try scorer so far this season, on the opposite flank. Sam Arnold and Dan Goggin are the starting centres with Tyler Bleyendaal – set for his first start since October – and James Hart pairing up at half-back.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

A new front row sees hooker Niall Scannell return from international duty with James Cronin and Stephen Archer the two props. Jean Kleyn partners Holland in the second row, while flanker Dave O’Callaghan makes his first start since returning from a long-term knee injury, and Chris Cloete and number 8 Robin Copeland keep their places in the back row.

Rhys Marshall, Dave Kilcoyne and Brian Scott provide the front row cover as Gerbrandt Grobler and Jack O’Donoghue complete the forward replacements, while Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley and Greencore Munster Rugby Academy winger Calvin Nash are the reserve backs.

Munster v Glasgow Warriors tickets are available online here, from the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices at Thomond Park and Irish Independent Park, or by calling 061 421103. Tickets are priced from just €;7 (student & junior) with family packs (two adults and two children) available for just €;40.

MUNSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Simon Zebo; Andrew Conway, Sam Arnold, Dan Goggin, Alex Wootton; Tyler Bleyendaal, James Hart; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer, Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland (capt), Dave O’Callaghan, Chris Cloete, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Dave Kilcoyne, Brian Scott, Gerbrandt Grobler, Jack O’Donoghue, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, Calvin Nash.