Jump to main content


Cave, Treadwell And McCall To Start For Ulster

Cave, Treadwell And McCall To Start For Ulster

Director of rugby Les Kiss has finalised the Ulster team for Sunday’s vital Champions Cup round 6 showdown with Wasps at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry (kick-off 3.15pm).

There are just three personnel changes and two positional switches to the province’s side that started last Saturday’s impressive 20-13 win over La Rochelle in Belfast.

Darren Cave, Kieran Treadwell and Kyle McCall are the three new faces included by the Ulster coaches. With Craig Gilroy ruled out after fracturing his cheekbone against the French outfit, Cave is selected at outside centre with Louis Ludik moving to the the right wing.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Australian international Christian Lealiifano has been named at out-half for what will be his final game before returning to play Super Rugby for the Brumbies. John Cooney, Stuart McCloskey, Jacob Stockdale and former Wasp Charles Piutau complete the back-line.

Treadwell’s inclusion at lock alongside Alan O’Connor results in Iain Henderson reverting to the back row next to Sean Reidy and Nick Timoney, one of Ulster’s try scorers against La Rochelle. Captain Rory Best will be flanked by McCall and Rodney Ah You in the front row.

Wiehahn Herbst has recovered from a calf injury sustained against Leinster earlier this month to make the bench. Rob Herring, Andrew Warwick, Matthew Rea and Chris Henry are the other forwards in the matchday squad.

Robert Lyttle, who scored two tries for Ulster ‘A’ in a bonus point win over Cornish Pirates last weekend, has earned a place on the bench alongside reserve half-backs David Shanahan and Johnny McPhillips.

A bonus point victory in Coventry would confirm Ulster as Pool 1 winners, regardless of La Rochelle’s result against bottom side Harlequins, while a win of any nature would see Ulster progress to the quarter-finals as one of the best runners-up.

ULSTER (v Wasps): Charles Piutau; Louis Ludik, Darren Cave, Stuart McCloskey, Jacob Stockdale; Christian Lealiifano, John Cooney; Kyle McCall, Rory Best (capt), Rodney Ah You, Alan O’Connor, Kieran Treadwell, Iain Henderson, Sean Reidy, Nick Timoney.

Replacements: Rob Herring, Andrew Warwick, Wiehahn Herbst, Matthew Rea, Chris Henry, David Shanahan, Johnny McPhillips, Robert Lyttle.