Jump to main content


Farrell, Marshall And Oliver Return To Munster Team

Farrell, Marshall And Oliver Return To Munster Team

The Munster team to face Connacht at Thomond Park on Saturday night (kick-off 7.45pm) has been named by head coach Johann van Graan.

CJ Stander captains the province from number 8 as Chris Farrell, Rhys Marshall and Conor Oliver all return from injury to start. There are ten personnel changes and two positional switches to the Munster side that lost in Belfast.

It is an all-Ireland international back-line with Simon Zebo named at full-back, Andrew Conway returning on the right wing and Keith Earls reverting from centre to the left wing berth. Rory Scannell partners the fit-again Farrell in midfield, while Ian Keatley and Conor Murray resume as the starting half-backs.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

New Zealander Marshall starts at hooker with Ireland props Dave Kilcoyne and John Ryan completing front row. Darren O’Shea is retained in the second row after impressing away to Ulster, with Jean Kleyn taking over from Billy Holland, who misses his first game of the season through injury.

Jack O’Donoghue moves to blindside flanker as Oliver, who is back from shoulder surgery, makes his first appearance of the season at openside and Stander slots back in at number 8 and takes the captaincy reins from the sidelined Holland.

Peter O’Mahony, Munster’s regular skipper, is among the forward replacements along with Mike Sherry, James Cronin, Stephen Archer and Robin Copeland. Duncan Williams, Bill Johnston, who could make his third PRO14 appearance of the current campaign, and Darren Sweetnam provide the back-line cover.

Munster v Connacht match tickets are available online here, in the Thomond Park and Irish Independent Park ticket offices (Monday to Friday, 10am-5pm), or by calling 061 421103.

MUNSTER (v Connacht): Simon Zebo; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Rhys Marshall, John Ryan, Jean Kleyn, Darren O’Shea, Jack O’Donoghue, Conor Oliver, CJ Stander (capt).

Replacements: Mike Sherry, James Cronin, Stephen Archer, Robin Copeland, Peter O’Mahony, Duncan Williams, Bill Johnston, Darren Sweetnam.