Jump to main content


Prop McGrath To Captain Leinster Against Munster

Prop McGrath To Captain Leinster Against Munster

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has announced his team to face Munster at Thomond Park on St. Stephen’s Day in the GUINNESS PRO14 (kick-off 3.15pm).

Leinster Academy back Jordan Larmour will make his first senior start against Munster from full-back, with Barry Daly returning from ankle injury to take his place on the right wing. New Zealander James Lowe is set for his second appearance in blue after his two-try debut in Treviso a few weeks ago.

Robbie Henshaw and Rory O’Loughlin are selected in the centre together for the second time this season, following on from October’s first fixture against Munster in which O’Loughlin scored two tries. Ross Byrne and Jamison Gibson-Park are the half backs for the round 11 duel.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Prop Jack McGrath will captain his native province for the first time. The St. Mary’s College clubman, who has played 121 times for Leinster and 42 times for Ireland, is joined in the front row by fellow internationals James Tracy and Michael Bent.

Devin Toner and James Ryan will start together in the second row, with the back row unit of Jordi Murphy, Dan Leavy and Jack Conan completing the pack. Ryan and Leavy are rewarded with starting berths after both making a big impact in the second half against Exeter Chiefs last Saturday.

As part of the festive schedule, Leinster will play Connacht at the RDS on New Year’s Day and Ulster, also at the RDS, on Saturday, January 6. Tickets for both interprovincial games are available at leinsterrugby.ie

LEINSTER (v Munster): Jordan Larmour; Barry Daly, Rory O’Loughlin, Robbie Henshaw, James Lowe; Ross Byrne, Jamison Gibson-Park; Jack McGrath (capt), James Tracy, Michael Bent, Devin Toner, James Ryan, Jordi Murphy, Dan Leavy, Jack Conan.

Replacements: Richardt Strauss, Ed Byrne, Tadhg Furlong, Mick Kearney, Josh van der Flier, Nick McCarthy, Cathal Marsh, Noel Reid.