Jump to main content


Ulster Make Two Changes For Second Duel With ‘Quins

Ulster Make Two Changes For Second Duel With ‘Quins

The Ulster team has been announced for the second of their back-to-back Champions Cup matches against Harlequins at Kingspan Stadium on Friday (kick-off 7.45pm).

A limited number of tickets for the round 4 meeting of Ulster and Harlequins at Kingspan Stadium are still available through ulsterrugby.com/buytickets.

There are only two changes to the province’s starting XV from last Sunday’s 17-5 win at a snowy Twickenham Stoop. Chris Henry, an impressive performer off the bench, has earned a starting berth in the back row, while Louis Ludik takes over from the injured Tommy Bowe (hamstring) at outside centre.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Iain Henderson, who will captain the Ulstermen again, and Abbey Insurance Academy player Nick Timoney, who made his European debut last weekend, will join Henry in the back row.

Alan O’Connor and Kieran Treadwell continue as the second row pairing, while Callum Black, Rob Herring and Wiehahn Herbst are retained together in the front row, with regular skipper Rory Best still sidelined with an infected ankle.

John Cooney, last week’s man-of-the-match and goal-kicking hero at the Stoop, will continue as Christian Lealiifano’s half-back partner, with Stuart McCloskey in midfield alongside Ludik.

Jacob Stockdale, who scored his sixth try of the season in London, is again included in the back-three along with Craig Gilroy and Charles Piutau. Andrew Trimble, selected on the bench, is the only new face in the panel of 23.

Ulster currently occupy second place in Pool 1 and a home win would put them in a strong position ahead of the final two rounds in January. Ulster v Harlequins will be televised live on BT Sport 2, with live radio commentary on BBC Radio Ulster MW and RTE Radio.

ULSTER (v Harlequins): Charles Piutau; Craig Gilroy, Louis Ludik, Stuart McCloskey, Jacob Stockdale; Christian Lealiifano, John Cooney; Callum Black, Rob Herring, Wiehahn Herbst, Alan O’Connor, Kieran Treadwell, Iain Henderson (capt), Chris Henry, Nick Timoney.

Replacements: John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, Ross Kane, Matthew Rea, Sean Reidy, Paul Marshall, Peter Nelson, Andrew Trimble.