Jump to main content


Henshaw And Ringrose Renew Centre Partnership For Leinster’s Exeter Test

Henshaw And Ringrose Renew Centre Partnership For Leinster’s Exeter Test

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has announced his team for Sunday’s Champions Cup round 3 showdown with Exeter Chiefs at Sandy Park (kick-off 5.30pm).

Leo Cullen is able to recall a number of players from international duty and from injury and there is also the possibility of a Champions Cup debut for Jordan Larmour off the bench. In all, there are 11 changes to the side that earned a 36-10 bonus point win over Benetton Rugby last Saturday.

Fresh from a successful GUINNESS Series with Ireland, Rob Kearney comes in at full-back with Fergus McFadden on the right wing and captain Isa Nacewa on the left. Robbie Henshaw has recovered from his hamstring injury to start alongside Garry Ringrose, reuniting their centre partnership for the first time this season.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Jonathan Sexton, who replaces the benched Ross Byrne at out-half, slots back in alongside Luke McGrath at half-back, while the four changes to the tight five see Cian Healy, Sean Cronin and Tadhg Furlong team up in an experienced front row and Devin Toner links back up with Australian Scott Fardy in the second row.

The 138-times capped Rhys Ruddock, who captained Ireland against Fiji last month, and Sean O’Brien come in at blindside and openside flanker respectively, with Wicklow man Jack Conan, who is looking forward to his duel at number 8 with Thomas Waldrom, completing an all-international back row.

Meanwhile, exciting Leinster Academy back Larmour is involved in a European matchday squad for the first time in his career. The 20-year-old flyer has so far scored three tries in eight GUINNESS PRO14 appearances.

LEINSTER (v Exeter Chiefs): Rob Kearney; Fergus McFadden, Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw, Isa Nacewa (capt); Jonathan Sexton, Luke McGrath; Cian Healy, Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, Scott Fardy, Rhys Ruddock, Sean O’Brien, Jack Conan.

Replacements: James Tracy, Jack McGrath, Michael Bent, James Ryan, Josh van der Flier, Jamison Gibson-Park, Ross Byrne, Jordan Larmour.