Jump to main content


O’Donnell Included In Munster ‘A’ Team To Play Bedford

O’Donnell Included In Munster ‘A’ Team To Play Bedford

Head coach Peter Malone has named his Munster ‘A’ team to face Bedford Blues at Irish Independent Park on Friday night (kick-off 7.45pm), with four changes to the side that defeated Nottingham in round 2 of the British & Irish Cup.

The three changes to the pack see a mix of youth and experience introduced with Academy prop Joey Conway making his British & Irish Cup debut, Academy lock Fineen Wycherley promoted from the bench, and Tommy O’Donnell selected to start following his return from an AC joint injury.

Mike Sherry continues at hooker, while the tighthead prop will be confirmed in due course. Wycherley will pack down next to Sean McCarthy in the engine room with Academy duo Sean O’Connor and Gavin Coombes completing the back row with Ireland international O’Donnell.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The only alteration to the back-line sees returning Ireland Sevens international and Academy player Alex McHenry return to the midfield. David Johnston, who touched down twice for Garryowen against Cork Constitution last Saturday, will again captain the provincial side.

There are two notable inclusions on the Munster ‘A’ bench as the Academy’s Jack O’Sullivan and UCC prop Bryan O’Connor are in line for their British & Irish Cup debuts in Cork.

Entry to the round 3 clash is free for all 10-Year/Season Ticket holders and Munster Rugby Supporters Club members on production of membership cards or tickets books. Tickets can also be purchased online here.

MUNSTER ‘A’ (v Bedford Blues): Stephen Fitzgerald; Jack Power, David Johnston (capt), Alex McHenry, Liam Coombes; Bill Johnston, James Hart; Joey Conway, Mike Sherry, to be confirmed, Fineen Wycherley, Sean McCarthy, Sean O’Connor, Tommy O’Donnell, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Duncan Casey, Bryan O’Connor, John Foley, Jack O’Sullivan, John Poland, Conor Fitzgerald, Dave McCarthy.