Jump to main content


Arnold And Hart Come In As Munster’s Only Changes

Arnold And Hart Come In As Munster’s Only Changes

The Munster team has been named for Sunday afternoon’s GUINNESS PRO14 match against Zebre in Parma (kick-off 2.30pm local time/1.30pm Irish time), with two changes to the side that defeated the Dragons 49-6 last time out.

James Hart makes his first start for Munster at scrum half in place of the injured Duncan Williams, following his summer move from Racing 92.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

After scoring his first two tries for Munster off the bench against the Dragons, Sam Arnold is promoted to the starting XV in place of Chris Farrell, who starts for Ireland against Argentina in tomorrow’s GUINNESS Series Test.

Darren Sweetnam returns from international duty to take his place on the right wing after making his Ireland debut against South Africa and scoring his first international try against Fiji.

Simon Zebo continues at full-back with Alex Wootton on the left wing and Rory Scannell at inside centre as JJ Hanrahan, who had a 100% return off the tee with seven from seven last time out, partners Hart at half-back.

There are no changes to the forwards, who are led by second row and captain Billy Holland who has started every single game of Munster’s 2017/18 campaign thus far.

Rhys Marshall is selected at hooker with Greencore Munster Rugby Academy player Liam O’Connor and tighthead Stephen Archer on either side of the front row. Jean Kleyn partners Holland in the engine room and Jack O’Donoghue, Chris Cloete and Robin Copeland form the back row.

Academy scrum half Jack Stafford, who has been in impressive form for Shannon, is in line to make his Munster debut off the bench with fellow Academy back Calvin Nash and out-half Bill Johnston also among the replacements.

Kevin O’Byrne, Brian Scott and Ciaran Parker provide the front row cover, while Darren O’Shea is set to make his second senior appearance of the season and Academy lock Sean O’Connor completes the reserve forwards.

MUNSTER (v Zebre): Simon Zebo; Darren Sweetnam, Sam Arnold, Rory Scannell, Alex Wootton; JJ Hanrahan, James Hart; Liam O’Connor, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer, Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland (capt), Jack O’Donoghue, Chris Cloete, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Brian Scott, Ciaran Parker, Darren O’Shea, Sean O’Connor, Jack Stafford, Bill Johnston, Calvin Nash.