Jump to main content


O’Brien And Murphy Set For Leinster Debuts In Glasgow

O’Brien And Murphy Set For Leinster Debuts In Glasgow

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has named his team for Friday’s GUINNESS PRO14 clash with Conference A leaders Glasgow Warriors at Scotstoun Stadium (kick-off 7.35pm).

There is a debut from inside centre for Westmeath man Conor O’Brien, while Josh Murphy is also in line for a debut from the bench. Leo Cullen is able to call upon four players named earlier this week in the Ireland squad for the GUINNESS Series.

Having impressed when introduced at Kingspan Stadium last week, Jordan Larmour starts at full-back against Glasgow with Adam Byrne and Dave Kearney on the right and left wing respectively.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

21-year-old centre O’Brien, who won an Ulster Bank League title with Clontarf in 2016, makes his first senior start in Leinster colours having impressed for the province’s ‘A’ team in recent weeks. Rory O’Loughlin dons the number 13 jersey. Jamison Gibson-Park and Ross Byrne will again form the half-back partnership.

There is a new-look front row this week with Ed Byrne, Sean Cronin and Michael Bent selected together, while Ross Molony captains the side from the second row with Clontarf’s Mick Kearney beside him.

Australian international Scott Fardy starts in the back row for the first time in his Leinster career, with Jordi Murphy selected at openside flanker and Max Deegan at number 8.

Former St. Michael’s College pupil Josh Murphy is in line to make his Leinster senior debut. The 22-year-old Leinster Academy player was a consistent performer for Cullen’s men in their pre-season friendlies until picking up a jaw injury against Gloucester.

LEINSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Jordan Larmour; Adam Byrne, Rory O’Loughlin, Conor O’Brien, Dave Kearney; Ross Byrne, Jamison Gibson-Park; Ed Byrne, Sean Cronin, Michael Bent, Ross Molony (capt), Mick Kearney, Scott Fardy, Jordi Murphy, Max Deegan.

Replacements: Richardt Strauss, Peter Dooley, Andrew Porter, Josh Murphy, Dan Leavy, Nick McCarthy, Cathal Marsh, Hugo Keenan.