Jump to main content


Henry To Captain Ulster For Visit Of Defending Champions

Henry To Captain Ulster For Visit Of Defending Champions

Ulster director of rugby Les Kiss has named his team for Friday’s GUINNESS PRO14 showdown with the Scarlets at Kingspan Stadium (kick-off 7.35pm).

Chris Henry returns to the province’s starting line-up and will captain the side for the round 3 fixture, which will be played five years to the day since former Ulster player Nevin Spence passed away, along with his father Noel and brother Graham.
There are three more new faces in the team, with Luke Marshall, Kyle McCall and Alan O’Connor also selected. The latter pair will join Rob Herring, Wiehahn Herbst and Kieran Treadwell in the front five, while Sean Reidy and Jean Deysel will accompany the skipper in the back row.
John Cooney, who was man-of-the-match in last Saturday’s win over Benetton Rugby, will line out at scrum half with Christian Lealiifano again named as his half-back partner. Marshall comes in to wear the number 13 jersey, outside Stuart McCloskey in an all-Ireland international midfield.
There are no changes to the back-three as Andrew Trimble, who crossed for two tries against the Italians last weekend, continues on the right wing alongside Jacob Stockdale and full-back Louis Ludik.
Ballymena clubmen John Andrew, Andrew Warwick and Matthew Rea, who earned his first start last week, are named among the replacements with fellow forwards Rodney Ah You and Robbie Diack. Paul Marshall, Peter Nelson and Tommy Bowe, with 386 appearances between them, will provide experienced back-line options for Les Kiss and his coaching team.

Meanwhile, in injury news, centre Callum Patterson sustained a knee injury playing for Ballymena last Saturday and is receiving treatment. Charles Piutau (hamstring) and Marcell Coetzee (knee) carried injuries through last week. Both players are expected to return for the round 4 match against the Dragons next Friday.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ireland winger Craig Gilroy (lower back), Ross Kane (elbow) and Schalk van der Merwe (shoulder) remain on the province’s injury list.
ULSTER (v Scarlets): Louis Ludik; Andrew Trimble, Luke Marshall, Stuart McCloskey, Jacob Stockdale; Christian Lealiifano, John Cooney; Kyle McCall, Rob Herring, Wiehahn Herbst, Kieran Treadwell, Alan O’Connor, Chris Henry (capt), Sean Reidy, Jean Deysel.

Replacements: John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, Rodney Ah You, Robbie Diack, Matthew Rea, Paul Marshall, Peter Nelson, Tommy Bowe.