Jump to main content


Internationals Return For Leinster’s Showdown With Wasps

Internationals Return For Leinster’s Showdown With Wasps

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has announced the team to play Wasps in Saturday’s eagerly-awaited Champions Cup quarter-final at the Aviva Stadium (kick-off 3.15pm).

The former Leinster and Ireland lock has been able to recall a number of Ireland internationals unavailable to him for last weekend’s 22-21 win over Cardiff Blues. He is also able to welcome back a number of players who missed the game through injury.

However, there is continuity in the back-three with Joey Carbery, Adam Byrne and captain Isa Nacewa starting again, while Ireland’s centre pairing in the recent Six Nations, Robbie Henshaw and Garry Ringrose, make their return in blue.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Half-backs Luke McGrath and Jonathan Sexton will pick up where they left off in the closing stages of Ireland’s rousing win over England at the Aviva Stadium two weeks ago.

Jack McGrath and Tadhg Furlong come into the front row with hooker Richardt Strauss completing an all-Ireland international front row. Devin Toner comes back into the second row to partner Hayden Triggs.

The fit-again Jack Conan will don the number 8 jersey in the injury-enforced absence of Jamie Heaslip, while Dan Leavy and Sean O’Brien, two other players who lined out against England, fill the blindside and openside flanker berths respectively.

There are less than 2,000 tickets left for sale ahead of the crunch last-eight showdown between current GUINNESS PRO12 leaders Leinster and the Aviva Premiership table toppers Wasps. Click here to buy your ticket(s).

LEINSTER (v Wasps): Joey Carbery; Adam Byrne, Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw, Isa Nacewa (capt); Jonathan Sexton, Luke McGrath; Jack McGrath, Richardt Strauss, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, Hayden Triggs, Dan Leavy, Sean O’Brien, Jack Conan.

Replacements: James Tracy, Cian Healy, Michael Bent, Ross Molony, Josh van der Flier, Jamison Gibson Park, Fergus McFadden, Zane Kirchner.