Jump to main content


Stockdale And Olding Selected At Centre And Out-Half For Ulster

Stockdale And Olding Selected At Centre And Out-Half For Ulster

Ulster director of rugby Les Kiss has made five personnel changes for Saturday’s GUINNESS PRO12 fixture against Zebre at Kingspan Stadium (kick-off 6.05pm).

Over 16,000 tickets have been sold for tomorrow evening’s rescheduled game, but there is still availability in some areas – please visit ulsterrugby.com/buytickets for details.

Luke Marshall and Jacob Stockdale, both replacements in last Friday’s win over Treviso, will form an all-new midfield partnership. Meanwhile, Alan O’Connor, Robbie Diack and Chris Henry are included as new faces in the pack.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Stuart Olding, who impressed against Treviso after switching to out-half late on, will start in the number 10 jersey outside Ruan Pienaar. Jared Payne has overcome a niggle and will line out at full-back, with Craig Gilroy and Charles Piutau set to join him in the back three.

The match will be Stockdale’s first start at outside centre, while Marshall will shift to inside centre after playing most of his rugby this season in the number 13 shirt.

The front row is unchanged as props Callum Black and Wiehahn Herbst will start either side of captain Rob Herring. Kieran Treadwell partners O’Connor in the engine room, while Marcell Coetzee will pack down at number 8 alongside Diack and Henry in the back row.

Rodney Ah You has recovered from injury and is named among the replacements with fellow forwards John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, Franco van der Merwe and Clive Ross.

Back-line players Paul Marshall, Peter Nelson and David Busby, who made a try-scoring debut against the same opposition a fortnight ago, will offer strong impact options off the bench.

ULSTER (v Zebre): Jared Payne; Craig Gilroy, Jacob Stockdale, Luke Marshall, Charles Piutau; Stuart Olding, Ruan Pienaar; Callum Black, Rob Herring (capt), Wiehahn Herbst, Kieran Treadwell, Alan O’Connor, Robbie Diack, Chris Henry, Marcell Coetzee.

Replacements: John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, Rodney Ah You, Franco van der Merwe, Clive Ross, Paul Marshall, Peter Nelson, David Busby.