Jump to main content


Munster’s Oliver Set For Number 8 Role Against Scarlets

Munster’s Oliver Set For Number 8 Role Against Scarlets

Munster director of rugby Rassie Erasmus has named his team for Friday night’s GUINNESS PRO12 round 16 encounter with the Scarlets at Thomond Park (kick-off 7.35pm).

In making five changes to the side that grinded out last weekend’s win over the Ospreys last weekend, Friday’s game comes too soon for Jack O’Donoghue (ankle) and Rory Scannell (knee). The pair are expected to make a return to full training at some point next week.

On a positive front, Jaco Taute has made a full recovery from his shoulder knock sustained against the Newport Gwent Dragons to start at full-back this weekend. The only other change to the back-line sees Academy centre Dan Goggin take his place alongside Francis Saili in midfield.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Handed his second PRO12 start, another Academy member Conor Oliver will make his first appearance in the number 8 jersey as he joins Dave O’Callaghan and Tommy O’Donnell in the back row.

Tipperary lock Dave Foley links up with Billy Holland in the engine room as Stephen Archer takes his place in the front row, packing down next to New Zealander Rhys Marshall and in-form loosehead Dave Kilcoyne.

Among the replacements, Bantry native and first year Academy lock Fineen Wycherley is included in his first PRO12 squad. The 19-year-old Young Munster player has made two starts for the Ireland Under-20s in this year’s U-20 Six Nations. Finally, Ian Keatley and Andrew Conway return from Ireland camp to complete the province’s matchday 23.

Munster v Scarlets tickets – priced at €;20 (adults), €;7 (juniors), €;7 (students) and €;40 (family (two adults & two juniors)) – can be purchased online from Ticketmaster.ie, from the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices at Irish Independent Park and Thomond Park, or by calling 061 421103. Tickets will be available to buy on match day.

MUNSTER (v Scarlets): Jaco Taute; Darren Sweetnam, Francis Saili, Dan Goggin, Ronan O’Mahony; Tyler Bleyendaal (capt), Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer, Dave Foley, Billy Holland, Dave O’Callaghan, Tommy O’Donnell, Conor Oliver.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Peter McCabe, Brian Scott, Darren O’Shea, Fineen Wycherley, Abrie Griesel, Ian Keatley, Andrew Conway.