Jump to main content


Munster Make Five Changes For Top Of The Table Clash

Munster Make Five Changes For Top Of The Table Clash

Munster director of rugby Rassie Erasmus has named his team for Saturday’s GUINNESS PRO12 encounter with the Ospreys at Liberty Stadium (kick-off 5.15pm).

In making five changes to the side that defeated the Newport Gwent Dragons, returning Ireland internationals Ian Keatley, Billy Holland and John Ryan have all been made available for the top of the table clash and are included in the starting line-up.

Ryan comes in to join Dave Kilcoyne and Rhys Marshall in the front row, while Holland and Darren O’Shea form a new look second row in completing the front five. Holland will make his 150th appearance for the province on Saturday.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

It is as you were in the back row with Dave O’Callaghan, Tommy O’Donnell and Jack O’Donoghue retaining their starting berths, and Duncan Williams and captain Tyler Bleyendaal will again line up in the half-backs.

Keatley will starts at full-back, joining Darren Sweetnam and Ronan O’Mahony in the back-three, and the final change sees Francis Saili pairing up with Rory Scannell in midfield.

On the injury front, there was mixed news for Jean Kleyn and Jaco Taute this week. Following further consultation with a specialist, Kleyn has been ruled out for approximately eight to ten weeks after the South African lock sustained a neck injury during last Friday’s bonus point win over the Dragons.

Versatile back Taute, who scored two tries in that round 14 fixture, continues to rehab a shoulder injury sustained in the same game, requiring further rest and recovery over the next week or so.

MUNSTER (v Ospreys): Ian Keatley; Ronan O’Mahony, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Darren Sweetnam; Tyler Bleyendaal (capt), Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Rhys Marshall, John Ryan, Darren O’Shea, Billy Holland, Dave O’Callaghan, Tommy O’Donnell, Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Peter McCabe, Stephen Archer, Dave Foley, Conor Oliver, Abrie Griesel, Dan Goggin, Andrew Conway.