Jump to main content


Eight Changes Made To Leinster Women’s Team

Eight Changes Made To Leinster Women’s Team

A number of Ireland 15s and Sevens internationals are back in the Leinster team for Saturday’s IRFU Women’s Interprovincial encounter with Ulster at Donnybrook (kick-off 6.30pm).

Leinster head coach Adam Griggs has an enhanced squad to pick from this week, with the notable inclusion of Hannah Tyrrell, Katie Fitzhenry and Kim Flood – three members of the Ireland Sevens side that won the Challenge Trophy in Dubai last week.

Flood and Fitzhenry join teenage sensation Eimear Corri, Leinster’s sole scorer in their 8-5 defeat to Connacht last Saturday, in a new-look back-three, while Tyrrell, who was originally down to wear the number 15 jersey, now covering for Nora Stapleton (back injury) at out-half. Michelle Claffey shifts to inside centre where she partners Jenny Murphy.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Up front, there are five changes to the pack that started in Tuam, including the promotion of props Lindsay Peat and Joanna Mahon from the bench. Ireland star Marie Louise Reilly slots back into the second row and fellow internationals Ciara Cooney and Paula Fitzpatrick, who captained Ireland twice during the November Series, will combine with captain Carmela Morey in the back row.

Returning front rower Cliodhna Moloney will give the Leinster bench some extra ball-carrying punch as the hosts look to bounce back from that disappointing result out west. Tickets for Leinster v Ulster will be available on the gate at Donnybrook.

Griggs said: “I wouldn’t say it is a short lead-in time because we’ve had the squad there for the last three months. The internationals have laid the foundations for what we’re doing. It is difficult with the Irish girls coming back in because they don’t know our system that well.

“But, these girls are quality players and they know the game and they have the skills. They have picked it up fairly easily. I am expecting to see good things from them and to see them lead against am improving Ulster.”

LEINSTER WOMEN (v Ulster): Kim Flood (Railway Union); Eimear Corri (Blackrock), Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere), Michelle Claffey (Blackrock), Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock); Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere), Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union); Lindsay Peat (Railway Union), Jennie Finlay (Railway Union), Joanna Mahon (Blackrock), Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere), Susan Fogarty (Railway Union), Ciara Cooney (Railway Union), Carmela Morey (Blackrock) (capt), Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary’s).

Replacements: Caoimhe Molloy (Gorey), Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union), Fiona O’Brien (Old Belvedere), Katie Norris (Blackrock), Juliet Short (Railway Union), Niamh Griffin (Blackrock), Niamh Byrne (Railway Union), Meaghan Kenny (Navan).


Saturday, December 3: Connacht Women 8 Leinster Women 5, Tuam RFC
Saturday, December 10: Leinster Women v Ulster Women, Donnybrook, 6.30pm
Saturday, December 17: Leinster Women v Munster Women, Donnybrook, 2.30pm

IRFU Women’s Interpros Fixtures/Results/Table