Jump to main content


O’Loughlin Slots Back In At Centre For Leinster

O’Loughlin Slots Back In At Centre For Leinster

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has announced the team that will travel to Wales to take on the Scarlets in the GUINNESS PRO12 on Friday night (kick-off 7.35pm).

There is a return to the matchday 23 for a number of newly-capped Ireland internationals, most notably Dan Leavy, James Tracy and Luke McGrath, while there are a number of other changes to the side that accounted for Zebre last time out.

There is one change in the back-line with Rory O’Loughlin coming back from injury to don the number 13 jersey. The Leinster Academy back has featured in five PRO12 games already this season and has recovered from a shoulder injury picked up in the win over Benetton Treviso. He will partner Noel Reid in midfield.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The province’s back-three again consists of two UCD clubmen with Barry Daly and Adam Byrne, who scored a hat-trick of tries last time out, on the wings and captain Isa Nacewa at full-back. Jamison Gibson Park and Ross Byrne continue together at half-back.

In the pack, Peter Dooley comes in at loosehead prop and joins Ireland internationals Richardt Strauss and Michael Bent in the front row with Bent winning his 70th cap for Leinster. Mike McCarthy is again selected at lock but is joined this time by Ian Nagle.

Finally, there is one more switch in the back row where Dominic Ryan comes in at blindside flanker, which means Leavy moves to the openside with fellow international Jack Conan continuing at number 8.

Terenure College prop Oisín Heffernan is in line to make his debut should he be introduced as a replacement, while Academy back rower Peadar Timmins is involved in a Leinster matchday squad for the first time this season.

LEINSTER (v Scarlets): Isa Nacewa (capt); Adam Byrne, Rory O’Loughlin, Noel Reid, Barry Daly; Ross Byrne, Jamison Gibson-Park; Peter Dooley, Richardt Strauss, Michael Bent, Mike McCarthy, Ian Nagle, Dominic Ryan, Dan Leavy, Jack Conan.

Replacements: James Tracy, Andrew Porter, Oisín Heffernan, Ross Molony, Peadar Timmins, Luke McGrath, Tom Daly, Zane Kirchner.