Jump to main content


Carbery To Make European Debut For Leinster

Carbery To Make European Debut For Leinster

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has announced his team to face Castres Olympique in Pool 4 in the European Champions Cup at the RDS on Saturday (kick-off 3.15pm).

Tickets for the first round game are still on sale at leinsterrugby.ie/tickets with over 14,000 sold ahead of the 3.15pm kick-off tomorrow. 

There are four changes to the Leinster side that accounted for Munster in the GUINNESS PRO12 last weekend, with two in the backs and two in the forwards.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Rob Kearney continues at full-back as he wins his 180th cap with Zane Kirchner coming in on the right wing and Isa Nacewa again selected on the left wing and as captain.

Having made his debut at the Aviva Stadium last time out, Robbie Henshaw will make his first start for the province the RDS tomorrow, pairing up again with Garry Ringrose in the centre.

Jonathan Sexton felt a tightness in his hamstring at training during the week, so there is one change at half-back with Joey Carbery coming in for his European debut alongside Luke McGrath.

In the pack, Jack McGrath is added to the front row alongside Sean Cronin and Tadhg Furlong. Loosehead McGrath will win his 100th cap for Leinster having made his debut in April 2010 against Glasgow Warriors. 

It is as you were in the second row with Devin Toner and Ian Nagle again lining out but it will be Corkman Nagle’s European debut. The final change comes in the back row where Josh van der Flier returns at openside flanker, combining with Rhys Ruddock and number 8 Jamie Heaslip.

Heaslip will become the second most-capped player in Leinster history when he lines out for his 222nd game. Gordon D’Arcy, on 261, is the player with the most Leinster appearances. 

Dan Leavy and Jamison Gibson Park, one of the try scorers against Munster, will make European debuts if they are introduced off the replacements bench.

LEINSTER (v Castres Olympique): Rob Kearney; Zane Kirchner, Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw, Isa Nacewa (capt); Joey Carbery, Luke McGrath; Jack McGrath, Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, Ian Nagle, Rhys Ruddock, Josh van der Flier, Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements: James Tracy, Cian Healy, Mike Ross, Ross Molony, Dan Leavy, Jamison Gibson Park, Cathal Marsh, Noel Reid.